Locos sending 8 players to GLSCL All-Star Game

The Great Lakes Collegiate Summer League’s version of the midsummer classic is set for July 16 at Prasco Park in Mason, Ohio, and eight Locos have been selected to participate in the showcase of the league’s top players.

Starting pitcher Matteo Pare (Pensacola State College) headlines the group along with third baseman Blake Bowen (University of Akron).

Pare, a 6-4 righthander from Lasalle, Ontario Canada, has served as the ace of the Locos staff this summer with three wins in six starts and a 2.17 earned run average, making him second in the GLSCL in both categories.

Bowen, who recently announced his transfer from the University of Kentucky to the University of Akron, is second in the league in batting average (.381) and runs batted in (25). The red-shirt freshman from Wooster, Ohio has hit safely in 18 of 25 games this summer while recording 10 multi-hit games.

First baseman Kaden Brown (Kennesaw State University), and shortstop Landon Tate (Kennesaw State University) were also picked as starters for the game. Outfielders Sebastian Alexander (Coastal Carolina University) and Brooks Wright (University of Louisiana Lafayette) were selected as reserves, while Drew Kirby (University of Louisiana Lafayette) and Thomas Howard (transfer portal) join Pare in the crop of All-Star pitchers.

Kirby is currently fourth in the league in strikeouts (27), Brown is hitting .306 on the summer with 18 runs batted in and Wright has made quite the impression on the Locos with a .323 average and 20 hits in 17 games prior to his first collegiate season.

Locos who were selected as alternates in case of injury or illness are Andrew Stechshulte (Ohio Northern University), Tyler Herron (University of Louisville), Justin Gorski (Miami University), Lou Fujiwara (University of Washington), Liam Richards (Yavapai College), Skyler Lhamon (Olney Central College), Chase Jarnagin (College of Charleston) and Dane Ebel (Lincoln Trail College).

All players who were selected will also have the opportunity to participate in a showcase at 2:30 p.m. on the day of the game where they’ll be evaluated by major league scouts in attendance.

The Locos All-Stars will play for the Blue team, along with selected players from the No. 1 seeded Hamilton Joes and the No. 5 Michigan Monarchs.

The rest of the Blue team’s starters consist of Mitchel Szymczak (C, Hamilton Joes), Ty Garza (2B, Michigan Monarchs), Ryan Novak (OF, Hamilton Joes), Tanner Mally (OF, Michigan Monarchs), Kimo Fukofuka (OF, Michigan Monarchs), Brayden Fraasman (DH, Hamilton Joes) and Parker Dillhoff (SP, Hamilton).

Blue team reserves include Alonzo Paul (C, Michigan Monarchs), Cam Gilkerson (1B, Hamilton Joes), Bryce Habuda (2B, Hamilton Joes), Charlie Schebler (SS, Hamilton Joes), Jamie Palmese (OF, Hamilton Joes), Logan McLaughlin (P, Michigan Monarchs), Abe Crall (P, Hamilton Joes), Connor Hutchinson (P, Hamilton Joes), Cooper Fiehrer (P, Hamilton Joes), Daniel Wilcome (P, Michigan Monarchs) and Kyle Kesel (P, Hamilton Joes).

Members of the Red team are made up of players from the No. 2 seed Muskegon Clippers, No. 4 Xenia Scouts, No. 6 South Ohio Copperheads and the No. 7 seeded Grand Lake Mariners.

Xenia has the most starters at four with pitcher Adam Wade, catcher Will Lawrence, second baseman Noah Ruiz and shortstop Jake McNamara.

Through 27 games, McNamara and Ruiz have combined to drive in 40 runs and Lawrence has added three home runs for the 11-16 Scouts.

Muskegon adds three starters in first baseman Ashten Wong, who leads the GLSCL in home runs with six, designated hitter Justin Osterhouse, the league’s top hitter with a .431 average, and outfielder Carson McCoy, a .322 hitter with 22 stolen bases on the summer.

The rest of the Red team’s starters include Stefan Di Corrado (3B, Grand Lake Mariners), Alex Ungar (OF, South Ohio Copperheads) and Jackson Rains (OF, Grand Lake Mariners).

Red team reserve players include Diego Pena (C, Muskegon Clippers), Troy Lynch (1B, Xenia Scouts), Cameron Bryant (2B, Grand Lake Mariners), Joey Canzoni (3B, South Ohio Copperheads), Sam Clay (SS, Muskegon Clippers), Cooper Hums (OF, Muskegon Clippers), Trenton Neuer (OF, South Ohio Copperheads), Zach Zarko (OF, Xenia Scouts), Blake Wentz (P, Xenia Scouts), Matthew Blanchard (P, South Ohio Copperheads), Brenden Holland (P, Xenia Scouts), AJ McAninch (P, Grand Lake Mariners), Ryan Uhlenhake (P, Grand Lake Mariners), Josh Hickey (P, Xenia Scouts), Mason Reyes (P, Grand Lake Mariners), Clay Clatterbaugh (P, South Ohio Copperheads) and Ryne Kaier (P, Xenia Scouts).

Reach Chris Howell at 567-242-0468 or on Twitter/X at @Lima_Howell