Roundup: Ottoville boys, Ottawa-Glandorf girls win soccer districts

KALIDA — Landon Horstman scored the only goal as Ottoville defeated Miller City 1-0 Saturday in a boys Division III district final.

The Big Green will next play the winner of tonight’s Van Buren match against Liberty-Benton at 7 p.m. Wednesday at Mercy Health/Wapak Ford Field.

Girls soccer

Ottawa-Glandorf 3, Delta 0

METAMORA — Makenna Siefker had two goals, Myka Aldrich had a tally and Bri Douglass and Maya Heringhaus each had an assist as O-G claimed a D-III district championship and advanced to play Riverdale in Tuesday’s 7 p.m. regional semifinal at Shawnee.

Riverdale 1, Bluffton 0

BLUFFTON — The host Pirates were eliminated in a D-III district final. Bluffton goalie Kynbzie Ewing had four saves.



Bluffton 45, Anderson 7

BLUFFTON — The Beavers received a dominant performance from its defense en route to a victory at Anderson.

Bluffton improved to 3-5 overall and 2-3 in the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference, while Anderson stayed winless at 0-8 and 0-5 in the HCAC.

A safety and nine-yard scoring run by Todd King Jr. 31 seconds later put Bluffton up 9-0 late in the opening quarter. The visitors pushed it to 29-0 at the half thanks to a pair of Drew Michael field goals, a 30-yard Xavier Reyero to CJ Thompson connection and a 21-yard Andre Wyne fumble recovery. Michael closed out the opening 30 minutes with a 39-yard boot for the commanding 29-0 lead.

Midway through the third quarter, Reyero hit Ethan Beringer from five yards out, capping a 13-play, 91-yard drive and making it 36-0. Following the only Anderson score of the day, Darnell Thomas found Andre Price Jr. for a 29-yard scoring toss. Michael drilled his third field goal of the day from 20 yards, making the final score 45-7!

King and Salieu Koroma both went over 100 yards on the ground. King churned out 143 and a touchdown on 28 carries, while Koroma needed 15 touches for 105 yards. Reyero was 16-of-23 for 147 yards and two scores. Thompson led the pass catchers with four receptions for 51 yards and a touchdown.

Kenan Ivery (led the defense with seven tackles, including a pair of sacks. Maxwell Moore added 3 TFL’s and two sacks for 22 yards. Jaydon McBreen was one of four Beavers with pickoffs and he returned his 25 yards.

Game summary

Marietta 21, Ohio Northern 17

ADA — Brennon Norris had a TD pass to Noah Miller, Jordan Pettaway had 10 carries for 82 yards and a touchdown and Jonmichael Elliott connected on a 38 yard field goal for ONU.

Game summary


UNOH assistant

passes away

LIMA — The University of Northwestern Ohio assistant Dave Jeanneret has passed away.

The Wapakoneta native had been employed by the university since 2010.

Jeanneret’s obituary

Men’s soccer

UNOH 4, Rochester 1

LIMA — Jovaunn Ramos, Bjarne Renner, Diego Cerezo and Corey Brouard each had a goal, Tomas Echevarria had a pair of assists and Moritz Guettel had an assist for the University of Northwestern Ohio.

Match summary

Women’s soccer

UNOH 3, Rochester 1

LIMA — Patricia Gomez Nogueras, Anne Sjolte and Janne Esther Frauenpreiss each had a goal, Hedda Isaksson, Nanna Rosengreen and Jasmin Tadina each had an assist and teammate Sophia Eisner made three saves.

Match summary

ONU 3, Marietta 0

ADA — Ohio Northern got a win over Ohio Athletic Conference foe Marietta as the Polar Bears celebrated Senior Day. Saturday’s match marked the regular-season finale for ONU and the Polar Bears’ fourth straight victory.

Emma Cook opened the scoring with a goal 2:23 into the game. The goal was assisted by Kylie Cabana.

The Polar Bears led 1-0 at halftime and scored again 3:17 into the second half courtesy of a goal from Alaina Casey that was assisted by Alyssa Beckett and Elizabeth Pierce.

Beckett capped the scoring in the 54th minute with a goal to give ONU the 3-0 lead.

Morgan Moeller played all 90 minutes in goal for ONU and recorded five saves in her fifth career shutout.

Match summary


UNOH 3, Rochester 1

ROCHESTER HILLS, Mich. — The Racers won 25-11, 22-25, 25-15, 25-22.

Abigail Martin had 15 kills, Logan Thomas had 13 kills, Madelyn Hampton had 27 assists, Savanna Reed had 13 assists, Alli Lopez had 10 digs and three aces, Aubree Ricketts had 15 digs and Bailey Gregory had 11 digs for UNOH.

Match summary

Earlham 3, Bluffton

RICHMOND, Ind. — The Beavers fell 25-16, 26-24, 25-22.

Kelly Armentrout had nine kills, Jenna Woods had eight kills and Chloei Barnett had seven kills, Mallory Fluharty had 27 assists and Emma Organ had 20 digs for Bluffton.

Match summary

Wooster 3, Bluffton 2

RICHMOND, Ind. — The Beavers fell 25-14, 14-25, 19-25, 25-23, 15-10.

Chloe Sample had 12 kills, Chloei Barnett had 11 kills, Jenna Woods had 11 kills, Mallory Fluharty had 36 assists and 10 digs and Emma Organ had 16 digs for Bluffton.

Match summary

Marietta 3, ONU 2

MARIETTA — The Polar Bears fell 25-17, 25-23, 17-25, 15-5 as they closed their Ohio Athletic Conference schedule.

Four Polar Bears tallied double-digit kills, as Erin Wagner led the way with 13 to go with 11 from Olivia Baumann and 10 each from Ava Ehlingerand junior Lauren James.

James added 10 blocks.

ONU finished in a three-way tie for fourth in the OAC standings and will be the No. 4 seed in next week’s OAC Tournament. The Polar Bears will play host to a quarterfinal match Nov. 7.

Match summary

Cross country

OAC Championships

FINDLAY — Six members of the Ohio Northern women’s team earned all-conference accolades with top-20 finishes, helping ONU to a second-place finish at the 10-team Ohio Athletic Conference Championships on Saturday morning at Hillcrest Golf Club.

ONU finished with 62 points.

John Carroll won the team title with 32 points. Mount Union was third with 72 points, Baldwin Wallace was fourth with 106, and Otterbein was fifth with 131.

Baldwin Wallace’s Hope Murphy won the individual title in 21:56.

AnnaSophia Gower led ONU across the finish line, placing third overall in the 111-woman field in 22:13. She earned first team All-OAC honors.

Olesya Mertz was 12th in 22:47, earning second team recognition.

Megan Vapenik earned second team recognition, finishing 14th in 22:51.

Kennedy Rader was 16th in 23:02 to earn second team honors.

Samantha Roth earned made the second team by finishing 17th in 23:07.

Ashley Hockstok was 20th in 23:14 to earn second team recognition.

Olyvia Ashbrook was 22nd in 23:16.

Four members of ONU’s men’s team earned all-conference accolades with top-20 finishes, helping ONU to a second-place finish at the 10-team compeition. The second-place showing was the Polar Bears’ best since winning the conference title in 2017.

Northern and Mount Union each scored 73 points, but ONU won the tiebreaker with the better finish by its sixth man.

John Carroll won the team title with 25 points.

Otterbein (126 points) and Wilmington (143 points) rounded out the top five.

Wilmington’s Simon Heys won the individual title in 24:15.

Ryan Massie led the Polar Bears across the finish line and earned first team with a time of 24:58 to finish seventh of 159 runners.

Trey Masterson was 10th in 25:18, earning first team honors.

Jacob Clouse was 15th in 25:24. He earned second team accolades.

Jared Swartz was also an All-OAC performer, finishing 18th in 25:27.

Complete results

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.