Boys golf: Shawnee sweeps to WBL championship

LIMA — After going 9-0 in Western Buckeye League dual matches the Shawnee boys golf team went on to win Thursday’s WBL tournament at par 72 the Oaks.

The Indians finished with a 316 team total followed by Bath (328), Van Wert (331), Wapakoneta (333), Ottawa-Glandorf (337), St. Marys (338), Defiance (343), Celina (357), Elida (359) and Kenton (375).

WBL player of the year Seth Grieshop (76), Matthew Owen (79), Evan Jackson (79) and Matthew Stiles (82) combined for the winning total.

Wapakoneta’s Zac Niekamp was medalist with a 71 with Grieshop and Bath’s Braden Binkley (77) finishing second and third respectively.

Celina’s Nick Steinbrunner (79), Defiance’s Luke Webb (82), Elida’s Griffin Burton and Alden Musil (89 each), Kenton’s Dawson Miller (88), Ottawa-Glandorf’s Justin Yaeger (82), St. Marys’ Brennan Steger (78) and Van Wert’s Keaton Foster (78) had the low rounds for their respective schools.

Joining Grieshop on the all-league first team were Niekamp, Steinbrunne, Foster, Steger, Lennon Cisco (Celina), Grant Leopold (Ottawa-Glandorf), Connor Raines (Bath), Binkley (Bath), Matthew Stiles (Shawnee), Logan Lee (Wapakoneta) and Matthew Owen (Shawnee).

Shawnee’s Andrew McGreevy received coach of the years honors.

Honorable mention recognition went to Ethan Clayton (Bath), Cayden Hirsch (Celina), Luke Webb (Defiance), Keegon Bullock (Elida), Landon Plaugher (Kenton), Justin Yaeger (Ottawa-Glandorf), Braylon Lampert (St. Marys), Evan Jackson (Shawnee), Sam Houg (Van Wert) and Peyton Young (Wapakoneta)

Bath, Ottawa-Glandorf, Van Wert, Wapakoneta, Celina, St. Marys and Defiance were second through eighth respectively behind Shawnee in the overall standings with Elida and Kenton finishing tied for ninth.


at the Oaks (par 72)

Team scores: 1. Shawnee 316, 2. Bath 328, 3. Van Wert 331, 4. Wapakoneta 333, 5. Ottawa-Glandorf 337, 6. St. Marys 338, 7. Defiance 343, 8. Celina 357, 9. Elida 359, 10. Kenton 375

Medalist: Zac Niekamp (W) 71

Individual Scores Used for Team Totals

Bath: Braden Binkley 77, Connor Raines 82, Ethan Clayton 83, Ezra Bolon 86

Celina: Nick Steinbrunner 79, Lennon Cisco 84, Cayden Hirsch 95, Gavin Pearson 99

Defiance: Luke Webb 82, Drew Hoeffel 85, Jaren Honsberger 86, Casen Linebrink 90

Elida: Griffin Burton 89, Alden Musil 89, Keegon Bullock 90, Ayden Bailey 91

Kenton: Dawson Miller 88, Landon Plaugher 90, Ethan McNamara 96, Ben Sams 101

Ottawa-Glandorf: Justin Yaeger 82, Grant Leopold 83, Davis Maag 85, Tyler Heckman 87

Shawnee: Seth Grieshop 76, Matthew Owen 79, Evan Jackson 79, Matthew Stiles 82

St. Marys: Brennan Steger 78, Joel Kogge 85, Blake Dingledine 87, Braylon Lampert 88

Van Wert: Keaton Foster 78, Grill McCracken 82, Sam Houg 85, Brock Stoller 86

Wapakoneta: Zac Niekamp 71, Logan Lee 84, Peyton Young 89, Preston Hinkle 89

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.