Locos open season with 3-2 win

SANDUSKY — Lima’s Titan Kamaka scored in the top of the ninth to help the Locos secure a 3-2 win over Sandusky to open the year Tuesday.

The Locos down, 2-0, scored two in the seventh to knot the score going intot he final frame.

Kamaka sparked the Locos’ offense, finishing 3 for 5 with a run and 2 RBI. As a team, the Locos scattered six hits.

Reese Bassinger picked up the win in relief by going 1 and two-third innings. Petyon Nelson started the game and went three and pitched three hitless frames, giving one one walk and striking out three. Defiance high school product Hayden Jerger pitched three innings, giving up two hits, two runs an walk while fanning two. Johanthon Allen tossed an innning of hitless ball as he struck out three and walked two.

LJGA tees off

Kyle Sutton took first place in the 16-18 boys division and Kayla Watkins garnered top honors in the 16-18 girls division at the Eagles Aerie #370 Open at Tamarac to open the Lima Junior Golf Association season Tuesday.

Sutton fired a 74 and won a playoff hole to snare first and Ross Dietz matched his 74 and placed second. Joseph Meyers and Connor Nartker each finished with a 76 to tie for third.

Watkins carded an 82 for first with Maddie Fleck finishing second with an 85 and Reaghan McDaniel rounded out the top three with a 92.

In the boys 14-15 division, Evan Altenberger placed first with a 79 followed by Brody Rosswurm with an 81 and Mathew Dealey carded an 84.

Leyton Goffena finished with a 42 to take top honors after winning a playoff in the boys 12-13 division. Alex Bellman was second with a 42 and Jacob Geier was third with a 45.

On the girls side in the 15 and under division, Taylor Niedens was first with a 51 and Ella Crosby placed second with a 56.

In the Pee Wee division, Levi Harmon was first with a 42 followed by Camden LeFevre with a 44 and Marina Nagel with a 47.


PeeWee: Levi Harmon (42) Camden LeFevre (44), Marian Nagel (47), Grace Meyer (56).


15 and Under: Taylor Niedens (51), Ella Crosby (56)

16-18: Kayla Watkins (82) Maddie Fleck (85), Reaghan McDaniel (92), Elle Gable (98), Kasey Nelson (101), Shay Boroff (106), Sarah Sheppard (120)


12-13: Leyton Goffena (42), Alex Bellman (42), Jacob Geier (45), CJ Goffena (46), Treg Meyer (46), Calvin Byrum (48), Tobin Amspoker (51), Andrew Marshall (56), MAson Roessner (64), Dylan Heckman (66)

14-15: Evan Altenberger (79), Brody Rosswurm (81), Mathew Dealey (84), Tyler Heckman (87), Brody Miller (91), Myles Steenrod (94), Brooks Taylor (94), Brock Stoller (95), Gabe Barhorst (95).

16-18: Kyle Sutton (74), Ross Dietz (74), Joseph Meyer(76), Connor Nartker (76), Jack Meyer (77), Brevin Brandt (77), Isaac Gallmeier (78), Keaton Schnipke (79), Keaton Foster (79), Evan Crosby (79).