Roundup: Area volleyball players earn all-state honors

St. Henry’s Mia Niekamp, New Bremen’s Olivia Heitkamp and Melina Schrader and Marion Local’s Lindsey Koenig earned all-state first team honors from the Ohio High School Volleyball Coaches Association.

Niekamp was recognized in Division III and Heitkamp, Schrader and Koenig were honored in D-IV. New Bremen’s Diana Kramer was named the D-IV coach of the year.

Coldwater’s Spencer Etzler and Jenna Leugers made the second team and third team respectively in D-III.

Wapakoneta’s Kaleigh Palmer (D-I), Ottawa-Glandorf’s Miya Ellerbrock (D-III) and Parkway’s Gabrielle Stober (D-III) received third team recognition.

In D-IV New Bremen’s Abi Powers and Leipsic’s Serenity Siefer made the second team, Crestview’s Cali Gregory landed on the third team and Lincolnview’s Mckayla Blankemeyer, Marion Local’s Lydia Eifert, Ottoville’s Elise Kramer and Temple Christian’s Cecelia Worsham made the honorable mention list.

St. Henry’s Chloe Gels received honorable mention honors in D-III.

Coldwater’s Nikki Etzler and Marion Local’s Anthony Chappel received coaches achivement awards.


All-district games

The Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association (NWOSSCA) will hold the 20th annual Senior All-District Games on Sunday at Liberty-Benton High School’s Turf Stadium, located at 9190 County Road 9 Findlay.

Seniors who have been selected to the 2022 all-district squads will play in these annual season ending matches.

The girls game will begin at 1 p.m. followed by the boys at 3 p.m.

Here are the rosters:

Girls Blue Team: Julia Mehaffie (Bluffton), Alyssa Giesige (Liberty Center), Alayna Hahn (Woodmore), Rachel Clark (Bath), Ceci Lutz (Northview), Samantha Scoles (Bluffton), Raven Harris (Celina), Taylir Lynam (Southview), Abby Eberly (Otsego), Kylie Recker (Liberty-Benton), Lillie Kate Smith (Notre Dame), Paige Brown (Southview), Zoe Turner (Northwood), Kaitlyn Eyink (Liberty-Benton), Gabby Gillenwide (Northview), Mya Vernon (Toledo Central Catholic), Macy Ash (Bowling Green). Coaches: Majd Ali (Southview) and Kassie Memmer (Toledo Central Catholic).

Girls White Team: Paige Durham (Elida), Brynn Reese (Cory Rawson), Adelle Francis (Perrysburg), Leah McQuade (Archbold), Kiana Harsh (Anthony Wayne), Kayden Firsdon (Eastwood), Lindsey Darr (Lake), Ashlyn Brown (Perrysburg), Abi Temple (Kenton), Rylee Vasvery (Wauseon), Bryn Tegenkamp (Continental), Gabi Wetherill (Kenton),

Hannah Montag (Eastwood), Analei Jackson (Elida), Elena Neceski (Perrysburg),Mallori Pollock (Anthony Wayne), Ezra Dixon (Wauseon), Veronica Florek (Springfield). Coaches: Nick Wilson (St. Marys) and Mark Schwemer (Cory Rawson).

Boys Blue Team: Kaiden Reed (Lake), Ethan Thomas (Elida), Zach Kemmer (Anthony Wayne), Krayton Kern (Archbold), Gabe Short (Archbold), Christian Bojarski (Anthony Wayne), Caleb Trent (Toledo St. Francis), Brendan Wishart (Northview), Griffin Meyer (Genoa), Travis Kenner (Toledo St. Francis), Rhenn Armey (Continental), Mike Lickert (Genoa), Hunter Keivens (Springfield), Parker Schofield (Anthony Wayne), Cohen Callahan (Bath), Logan Baacke (Fremont Ross), Adam Sloan (Springfield) and Mike Kern (Toledo St. Francis).

Boys White Team: Adam Ayad (Ottawa Hills), Jacob Reed (Toledo St John’s), Evan McConnachie (Toledo St John’s),

Carter Horstman (Ottoville), Kellen Schlagbaum (Ottoville), Justin Good (Bluffton), Nolan Risner (Delta), Will Gallaspie (Spencerville), Nate Schuele (Southview), Tyler Pawlicki (Southview), Austin Miller (Shawnee), Connor Defibaugh (Kenton), Colby Quay (Kenton), Colin Scheid (Shawnee), Mathias Drumm (Bowling Green), Eden Antrim (Bluffton). Coaches: Jamie Bartlett (Kenton) and Josh VanGorder (Spencerville).

Head to for more information.

Lima Senior reverse raffle

The Lima Senior High School Athletic Boosters will hold its annual Reverse Raffle on Saturday, March 25, at the American Legion Post 96, 711 S. Shore Drive.

Doors open at 5:30 p.m. with dinner starting at 6 p.m. The first raffle ticket will be drawn at 6:30 p.m.

This year’s reverse raffle payout is $5,000. There will also be a live auction, Spartan Auction and other games of chance. All non-winning grand prize tickets will be put in a drawing for a second-chance prize.

Tickets are $100. The price includes entry and food for two people and one entry into the reverse raffle. Ticket holders do not need to be present to win.

Tickets can be purchased online at

Tickets are also available in the Lima Senior Athletic Office during school hours. Checks should be made payable to the Lima Senior Athletic Boosters. For information, call 419-996-3050.


Men’s basketball

Ohio Northern 62,

Oberlin 58

ADA — Neal Young got a victory in his debut as the Polar Bears’ head coach at Phillips Gymnasium.

C.J. Napier had 18 points and Heath Jeffries scored 11 points for ONU.

Men’s soccer


BLUFFTON — The Bluffton University capped off the 2022 campaign with two first team all-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference selections and one player named honorable mention All-HCAC.

Dalton Taynor and Angel Velasco-Urbina are the first honorees named first team from Bluffton since 2009. Elijah Zimmerman received honorable mention recognition.

Women’s soccer


BLUFFTON — Bluffton University had two players earn All-HCAC honors following the 2022 season. Nina McGinn and Kelsie Gladieux received honorable mention recognition.

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.