Spencerville’s Prichard named NWC player of the year in boys basketball

Top OAC honor goes to ONU’s Lauck

By Mike Purdy - mpurdy@limanews.com






Spencerville’s Dakota Prichard has been chosen as the 2016-17 Northwest Conference player of the year by the conference’s boys basketball coaches at the annual selection meeting Monday evening in Delphos. Prichard received 117 total points to finish ahead of Delphos Jefferson’s Jace Stockwell who tallied 114 points in a close vote.

Prichard averaged 18 points per game along with 5 rebounds and 2.5 assists per game for the league champion Bearcats, with a season-high 32 points in the conference clinching win against Jefferson.

Coach of the year honors went to Spencerville’s Kevin Sensabaugh. He led the Bearcats to an 8-0 conference mark and a regular season record of 17-5. This year’s conference championship was the eighth NWC title in school history for the Bearcats.

Prichard and Stockwell were joined on the NWC first team by Crestview’s Javin Etzler, Allen East’s Spencer Miller, Spencerville’s Bailey Croft and Bluffton’s Luke Denecker. Prichard, Stockwell, Miller and Croft are seniors while Etzler is a sophomore and Denecker is a freshman.


Division III

Paulding 53, Delta 36

WAUSEON — The Panthers advanced to play Archbold at 6:15 p.m. Friday at Wauseon High School.

Ethan Rhonehouse had 13 points and Preston Ingol scored 10 for Paulding.

Track & field

10 from W-G

head to state

Ten Waynesfield-Goshen competitors have qualified to compete at the state meet in Akron beginning at 3:30 p.m. Saturday.

Leading the way are Tyler Eller, who is ranked in the top six in the 60- and 400-meter dashes, and Brandon James, ranked in the best five in the triple jump.

The Tigers’ 4 x 200 relay team of Dustin Klenke, Tyler Eller and Gabriel and Brandon James and the 4 x 400 relay team of Tyler Eller, Gabriel James, Wesley Eller and Zane Wicker are among the top 10.

Gabriel James will also be competing in the 60 dash and the long jump. Others scheduled to compete for W-G include Caitlin Hinds (high jump and triple jump), Josh Searson (pole vault), Bailie Barrington (800-meter run), Dustin Klenke (weight throw) and Audra Meeks (high jump).


Women’s basketball

OAC honors

ADA — Oho Northern’s Britt Lauck, a Shawnee graduate, has been named the Ohio Athletic Conference player of the year.

Lauck and teammate Amy Bullimore earned first team All-OAC honors. The Polar Bears’ Jenna Dirksen was named honorable mention all-conference.

Also, Michele Durand earned coach of the tear honors for the third time in her time at the helm for the Polar Bears.

Lauck earned her second consecutive first team and currently leads the team in scoring (14.6 ppg), and leads the league with 97 assists and shooting 88.4 percent from the free throw line.

She ranks third all-time at ONU with 246 career assists and 15th all-time at ONU with 962 career points.

Her .884 percentage from the free throw line is an ONU single season record.

Bullimore was named first team All-OAC for the second consecutive season.

Durand led the Polar Bears to their first undefeated regular season in school history.

Northern returns to action this weekend when the Polar Bears play host to the first round of the NCAA Division III Tournament, taking on Lakeland (Wis.) at 7:30 p.m. Friday at the ONU Sports Center.


BLUFFTON — Bluffton University raked in the hardware when the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference announced its 2016-17 award winners.

For the first time in school history three Bluffton players secured first team All-HCAC recognition. Ottoville graduate Rachel Beining along with Macey Sheerer (Bucyrus) and Allen East grad Kaycee Rowe all garnered first team recognition. The Beavers’ TJ Mills was named the HCAC freshman of the year.

Beining notched her second consecutive first team All-HCAC honor. Beining leaves Bluffton as the school’s all-time leading rebounder, finishing with 789. Here 1,156 career points are third all time list, while her 480 field goals place her second. Beining’s .503 career field goal percentage 169 blocks are each third all time.

Sheerer, a junior, is ninth all-time at Bluffton with 1,043 career points. She is third all-time with 357 career free throws and her 80.8 percent at the line is second to Rowe (81.8 percent). Sheerer has climbed to eighth with 561 career boards and her 184 assists are 16th all-time.

A second team All-HCAC honoree as a sophomore, Rowe is 19th on the all-time scoring list with 774 points. She is 13th all-time with 189 assists and her 130 steals are 13th for a career. Rowe also has 40 career blocks (ninth all time).

Bluffton’s Jessica Boggan was recognized by the HCAC as a member of the All-Conference Sportsmanship team.

Top OAC honor goes to ONU’s Lauck

By Mike Purdy


Mike Purdy can be reached at 567-242-0451.

Mike Purdy can be reached at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation