Boys golf: Conference titles determined

By Staff Reports - [email protected]

OTTAWA — St. Marys won the Western Buckeye League tournament championship Thursday at par 71 Pike Run and finished in a tie for the overall conference championship with regular season dual match winner Shawnee.

The Roughriders finished with a 319 total followed by Shawnee (321), Ottawa-Glandorf (337), Elida (344), Defiance (346), Celina (356), Bath (357), Wapakoneta (365), Van Wert (369) and Kenton (417).

Andrew Moore (76), Cole Koenig (80), Brett Speckman (81) and Dakoda Moore (82) contributed to the first place team total.

Ottawa-Glandorf’s Carter Schimmoeller was medalist with a 73. Elida’s Carson Harmon (74), Shawnee’s Justin Altenbach (76), Bath’s Britton Hall (77), Van Wert’s Jace Fast (83), Celina’s David Kramer (85), Wapakoneta’s Clay Wilsey (82) and Kenton’s Grady Baum (96) had the low rounds for their teams. Altenbach defeated Moore in a playoff to determine third place.

Harmon earned player of the year honors and all-league recognition along with Schimmoeller, Hall, Altenbach, Moore, Fast, Koenig, Defiance’s Jayden Jerger, Wilsey, Elida’s Cameron Collins and Shawnee’s Colin Pasion and Jack Shivley. Shawnee’s Andrew McGreevy and St. Marys’ Steve Schmitmeyer shared coach of the year honors.

NWC tournament

OTTAWA — Lincolnview (338) won the Northwest Conference tournament title at par 72 Moose Landing and tied regular season head-to-head winner Allen East for the overall league championship.

Allen East (348) finished second followed by Bluffton (349), Columbus Grove (367), Leipsic (368), Delphos Jefferson (385), Ada (411) and Crestview (417). Spencerville did not have enough players to post a team score.

Medalist Evan Miller (79), Landon Price (84), Aiden Hardesty (85) and Avery Slusher (90) combined for the winning total.

Allen East’s Zach Miller (82) was second individually and Grove’s Isaac Ricker (83) finished third. Bluffton’s Kenny Lovett and Jacob Boisvert (84 each), Leipsic’s Mason Brandt (84), Delphos Jefferson’s Isaac Gallmeier (88), Crestview’s Will Sharpe (98), Ada’s Geddes Klingler (102) and Spencerville’s Michael Woods (112) had the low rounds for their schools.

All-conference honors were also determined. Player of the Year Miller, Lovett, Brandt, Gallmeier, Miller, CG’s Nick Wolverton and Allen East’s Cameron Hedrick earned first team honors. Lincolnview’s Brett Hammons received coach of the year honors.

BVC tournament

OTTAWA — Pandora-Gilboa finished second (348) behind Liberty-Benton (327) in the last of three 18-hole tournaments to determine the Blanchard Valley Conference championship.

L-B was the overall conference winner followed by Van Buren and P-G among the eight that posted team totals in the trio of events.

Pandora-Gilboa’s Eli Huffman was medalist Friday at par 72 Moose Landing with a 76. He was joined on the all-conference first team with teammate Grant Farthing. L-B’s Brice McDaniel earned player of the year honors and Liberty-Benton’s Steve Williman was selected as the coach of the year.

By Staff Reports

[email protected]

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation