Mangas, Etzler, Wolf Players of the Year on All-Northwest Ohio team

Staff reports

Shawnee’s George Mangas, Crestview’s Kalen Etzler and Minster’s Ivy Wolf were named Player of the Year in their divisions on the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association’s All-Northwest Ohio basketball teams, which were announced Wednesday night.

Mangas, who has averaged more than 30 points a game the last two seasons, is the Division II boys Player of the Year. Etzler, who has signed with Ohio State, is the Division IV boys Player of the Year. Wolf, who has signed with Miami University, is the Division IV girls Player of the Year.

Lima Senior’s Khalil Luster is on the boys Division I first team. Ottawa-Glandorf’s Brennen Blevins and Owen Nichols are on the Division III boys first team. Ottoville’s Josh Thorbahn, Columbus Grove’s Blake Reynolds, Parkway’s Dylan Hughes and Minster’s Justin Nixon are on the Division IV boys first team.

Shawnee’s Tyson Elwer is on the Division II boys second team and his teammate, Brady Wheeler received honorable mention. Lima Central Catholic’s Rossy Moore is on the Division III second team and the Thunderbirds’ Evan Unruh got honorable mention.

Perry’s Brayden Knight is on the Division IV second team. Lima Senior’s Jourdyn Rawlin received honorable mention in boys Division I. Columbus Grove coach Chris Sautter and Minster coach Michael McClurg shared Coach of the Year honors in boys Division IV.

Bath’s Ruby Bolon is on the girls Division II first team and Ottawa-Glandorf’s Kelsey Erford is on the girls Division III first team. In girls Division IV, Ottoville’s Nicole Knippen, Delphos St. John’s Paige Gaynier and Columbus Grove’s Kenzie King are on the first team.

Bath’s Chandler Clark is on the Division II second team. Lima Senior’s Nakiya Sigman is on the Division I third team and Shawnee’s Grace Freiberger is on the Division II third team.

Lima Senior’s Cheyanne Bean, Bath’s Esther Bolon, Elida’s Amira Freeman and Shawnee’s Zoe Best received honorable mention.

Minster coach Mike Wiss shared Coach of the Year honors. The teams were selected by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters who are members of the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

A complete list of All-Northwest Ohio honors ison page 2B.

Staff reports

Post navigation