Roundup: Elida advances with boys basketball win against Kenton

By Staff Reports -






ELIDA — The Bulldogs withstood being outscored 23-14 in the fourth quarter to earn a 69-66 Division II boys basketball sectional semifinal victory Tuesday night.

Austin Miller (21), Tyler Long (15), Aidan Bartels (14) and Jayden Irons (12) each scored in double digits for Elida (5-16), which will play at Shawnee at 7 p.m. Friday. Jayden Cornell had 31 points and Jacob Eversole scored 11 for Kenton (0-17).

Sectional semifinals

Division II

Wapakoneta 37, Celina 30

WAPAKONETA — The hosts (13-9) defeated the Bulldogs (5-16) to move on and play at 7 p.m. Friday at Wauseon. Noah Ambos and Garrett Siefring had 11 points each for Wapak. Josh Rasawehr had 12 points and Quinn Andrew scored 11 for Celina.

Division IV

Spencerville 52,

Upper Scioto Valley 50

MCGUFFEY — The Bearcats outscored the Rams 15-11 in the fourth quarter to earn the victory and advance to play at Perry at 7 p.m. Friday. Dalton Prichard had 14 points and Dylan Smith scored 13 for Spencerville (8-15). Jackson Rohrs had 19 points and Connor Sanders scored 16 for USV (12-11).

Fort Jennings 47,

Pandora-Gilboa 42

PANDORA — The Musketeers outscored the Rockets 13-7 in the fourth quarter to gain the victory. Nick Trentman had 17 points and Jon Grote scored 16 for Fort Jennings (7-14), which will play at Columbus Grove at 7 p.m. Friday.

St. Henry 69,

Temple Christian 19

ST. HENRY — The Redskins led 23-3 at the end of the first quarter. Luke Gels had 11 points and Bennett Gels scored 10 for St. Henry (16-7), which had 11 players the scoring column. Preston Patrick had 10 points for Temple Christian (3-19).

Fort Recovery 65,

New Knoxville 51

FORT RECOVERY — The hosts (12-11) defeated the Rangers (5-17) to advance to play at 7 p.m. Friday at St. Henry.

Lincolnview 61,

Patrick Henry 45

MIDDLE POINT — The Lancers held a 14-5 first quarter advantage that grew to 33-16 by halftime as they moved on to play at Kalida at 7 p.m. Friday.


Columbus Grove’s Blake Reynolds (player of the year) and Chris Sautter (coach of the year) received top honors in the Northwest Conference.

Joining Reynolds on the first team were Kalen Etzler (Crestview), Tayt Birnesser (Columbus Grove), Collin Overholt (Lincolnview), Blake McGarvey (Paulding) and Creed Jessee (Lincolnview).

Making the second team were Josh Henline (Spencerville), Ian Wannemacher (Delphos Jefferson), Gabe Clement (Columbus Grove), Tyler Clum (Allen East) and Payton Beckman (Paulding).


Dayton to host

state tournaments

COLUMBUS — The Ohio High School Athletic Association and the University of Dayton have announced that the OHSAA girls and boys basketball state tournaments will be held at UD Arena in March after the Ohio Department of Health and Public Health – Dayton and Montgomery County approved a variance to allow a greater number of fans at each game.

The girls state tournament will be held Thursday, March 11, through Saturday, March 13, while the boys state tournament will be held Friday, March 19, through Sunday, March 21. For both state tournaments, the semifinals will be at 11 a.m., 2 p.m., 5 p.m. and 8 p.m., and the championship games will tip off at 10:45 a.m., 2 p.m., 5:15 p.m. and 8:30 p.m.

The divisional order of play this year is Division IV, III, II and I. Spectrum News 1 will televise the championship games, while the semifinals will be streamed live through

The specific number of fans permitted per game will be announced at a later date.

The 2021 OHSAA boys basketball state tournament was scheduled to be held at St. John Arena at The Ohio State University, but that facility is not available due to the pandemic.


Men’s track & field

ONU ranked

No. 22 nationally

ADA — Ohio Northern is ranked No. 22 nationally in the fifth weekly United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Div. III power rankings.

The Polar Bears (17-3 overall) scored 32.71 points in the rankings, which are based on national performance rankings with bonus points for exceptional times. That total is 14.72 points less than the 47.43 points scored in last week’s fourth weekly poll.

Wartburg (Iowa) is first with 266.92 points, Wisconsin-Oshkosh is second with 217.05 points and Loras (Iowa) is third with 165.47 points.


Mariners elect three

new board members

CELINA — Mark Wulfhorst, Jason Andrew and Jeff Ingraham have been elected as new Grand Lake Mariners board members.

Wulfhorst is a retired public address announcer and radio broadcaster.

Andrew is a science teacher and varsity assistant baseball coach at Celina High School.

Ingraham was one of the founding members and lawyer for the Mariners in 1989. Currently, he is the fifth judge of the General Division of the Mercer County Commons Pleas Court and has served since January 1991.

Concurrently, Bill Miller, Wes Harris and Stephanie Harris resigned from the board.


By Staff Reports

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation