Shawnee, Celina advance to districts

Staff Report

Boys Soccer

Division II district semifinals

Shawnee 2, Elida 1

Shawnee’s Matteo Fusillo and Carter Jensen both scored goals and Jake Miller and Jensen were credited with assists. Elida’s Aiden Bartels scored the Bulldogs lone score. Indian keeper Landon Hoehn made eight saves.

Celina 3, St. Marys 1

St. Marys’ Adam Tobin scored the lone goal for the Roughriders and Joey Vanderhorst was credited with an assist. Roughrider goalie Correy Nelson made two saves including one on a penalty kick.

Shawnee and Celina will face off in the district final at Elida 6 p.m. on Thursday.


District III district semifinals

Ottawa-Glandorf 3, Parkway 0

OTTAWA —Ottawa-Glandorf won 25-7, 25-17 and 25-20. O-G’s Maddie White had 10 kills, five aces, one block and two digs and Miya Ellerbrock had six kills, two blocks and seven digs. Erin Kaufman had five kills, three blocks and two aces and Katie Kaufman had four kills and four blocks. Chloe Glenn had four kills, two blocks and four digs. Saleigha Ellerbrock had 23 assists, eight aces, two kills and 11 digs and Lexi Fortman had five digs.

District 8 team named

Wapakoneta’s Kaleigh Parker was named Division I player of the year and Elida’s Kylie Vorhees snared Division II player of the year accolades. In Division III, Liberty-Benton’s Izzy Granger and Ottawa-Glandorf’s Maddie White shared the honor.

In Division IV, Fort Recovery’s Paige Fortkamp was named the top player in the west and Miller City’s Abi Lammers was tabbed the top player in the east.

Amber Miller was named the coach of the year.

Joining the fourf top players in Division I, II and III on the first team were Kylie Stackhouse (Bluffton), Payton Bertke (Celina), Brookyln Bourne (Celina), Kendall Black (Defiance), Karis Willow (Liberty-Benton), Karrington Green (Shawnee), Erin Kaufman (Ottawa-Glandorf) and Sophie Rieneke (Van Buren).

Fortkamp was joined on the Division IV team by Alayna Ricker (Columbus Grove), Laci McCoy (Crestview), Elizabeth Scheckelhoff (Leipsic), Kendall Bollenbacher (Lincolnview), Brianna Ebel (Lincolnview), Alana Pohlman (Marion Local), Josie Reinhart (New Bremen), Ellie Gabel (New Knoxville) Carsyn Henschen (New Knoxville) and Mia Niekamp (St. Henry).

St. Henry’s Tricia Rosenback was the Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity nomination and New Bremen head coach Diana Kramer was the Hall of Fame nomination.


O-G, LCC ranked

Ottawa-Glandorf, winners of its playoff game against Northwestern last week, moved into the No. 10 position in Division V in the Ohio High School Football poll released Monday.

The Titans (7-1) travel to take on Otsego (8-0) who are ranked No. 7 in Division V.

Lima Central Catholic (6-1) was ranked No. 4 after its convincing win over Mohawk in the regional quarterfinals. The Thunderbirds take on Crestview (6-2) this week. Perry, who lost its postseason game, came in ranked No. 11.

Pioneer Bowling Classic cancelled

The 2020-2021 Pioneer Bowling Classic Jan. 18 day has been cancelled according to Temple Christian athletic director B.J. McPheron.

In a statement, McPheron said, “We knew each of you would be understanding as to the logistics involved with the current climate. We are thankful there looks to be a season this winter and that the kids will hopefully get to bowl a regular season but didn’t think a tournament and the time/regulations/oversight that it would take would be a task we could take on. We dd plan to have the event in January 2022 and hope that each of you will consider a return to the Pioneer Classic at that time.”

Staff Report

Post navigation