Roundup: Ottawa-Glandorf remains unbeaten in volleyball

By Staff Reports - [email protected]

Ottawa-Glandorf improved to 14-0 on the season with a 25-18, 25-19, 25-22 volleyball victory Saturday against Fort Recovery.

Maddie White had 17 kills, Saleigha Ellerbrock had four aces, Saleigha Ellerbrock had 34 assists and Maddie White had 13 digs for Division III O-G, ranked No. 1 in the Ohio High School Volleyball Coaches Association poll, against the ninth-ranked D-IV Indians.

Leipsic 3, Otsego 2

The Vikings won 25-13, 25-15, 12-25, 17-25, 15-12

Leipsic leaders: Marisa Hermiller had 15 kills and three aces, Peyton Heitmeyer had three aces, Serenity Siefer had 30 assists and Jocie Hermiiler had 20 digs for Leipsic (10-2), which won its ninth straight match.

Miller City 3, Arcadia 1

Miller City won 20-25, 27-25, 25-13, 25-13

Miller City leaders: Abi Lammmers had 22 kills, Abi Lammers had six aces, Adrienne Kuhlman had 35 assists and Abi Lammers had 41 digs for Miller City.

Carey 3, Ada 1

Ada fell 29-27, 23-25, 25-15, 25-9

Ada leaders: Megan Light had seven kills kills, Leona Dalton had three aces, Miranda Wills had 15 assists and Courtney Sumner had 22 digs for Ada.

Vanlue 4, Cory-Rawson 1

C-R lost 25-14, 25-18, 22-25, 25-18

Cory Rawson leaders: Alli Garmatter had nine kills, Maddy Wellington had 12 assists and Faith Bowersox had 11 digs for Cory-Rawson.

Lima Central Catholic 3,

Lima Senior 0

The Thunderbirds won 25-7, 25-6, 25-16

Lima Central Catholic leaders: Kennedy Parker had 17 kills, Zoey Foster had 36 assists and Jacqueline Cutlip had 22 digs for LCC.

Fayette 3,

Continental 2

Continental fell 18-25, 25-8, 25-23, 12-25, 15-9.

Boys golf

MAC tournament

Coldwater (344) won the Midwest Athletic Conference tourney title at the par 72 Mercer County Elks followed by Delphos St. John’s (347), Minster (356), St. Henry (357), Versailles (363), Fort Recovery (373), New Bremen (381), Parkway (398), Marion Local (398) and New Knoxville (413).

Medalist Carson Muhlenkamp (76), Keegan Bruggeman (88), Nick Kline (90) and Ben Giere (90) combined for the winning total.

Jack Gerker (79) of Delphos St. John’s, Minster’s Joseph Magoto (81), St. Henry’s Nate Niekamp (81), Fort Recovery’s Cole Muhlenkamp (88), New Bremen’s Preston Hoehne (87), Parkway’s Hunter Gibson and Kaden Boroff (96 each), Marion Local’s Logan Fleck (92) and New Knoxville’s Max Henschen (96) had the low rounds for their respective schools.

Minster won the overall MAC title with Magoto earning player of the year honors.

Joining him on the all-conference first team were Muhlenkamp), Gerker (Delphos St. John’s), Justin Heitkamp (Versailles), Niekamp, Brady Hoelscher (Minster), Sam Koesters (St Henry), Collin Feathers (Delphos St. John’s), Isaac White (Versailles), Jeffrey Odenweller (Delphos St. John’s), Jared Bergman (New Bremen) and Trent Lindeman (Delphos St John’s). Minster’s Jeremy Magoto was the coach of the year.

Triton-Edgerton Invitational

Kalida (326) finish one stroke ahead of Pettsville to win the title in the 15-team competition at the par 72 Eagle Rock Golf Club. Ottoville (361) and Leipsic (364) were fifth and sixth respectively. Miller City (399) and Paulding (403) were 13th and 14th respectively.

Medalist Ryan Klausing (72), Ethan Warnecke (83), Kayla Nartker (84) and Justin Siebeneck (87) combined for the wining total. Ottoville’s Carter Schnipke (84), Leipsic’s Mason Brandt (77), Paulding’s Kyle Dominique (87) and Miller City’s T.J. Michel (92) had the low rounds for their respective schools.

Girls golf

MAC tournament

Coldwater (380) had the low team total at par 72 Stillwater Valley Golf Club followed by Versailles (402), Fort Recovery (415), St. Henry (416), Minster (423), Delphos St. John’s (432), Marion Local (449), New Bremen (483) and Parkway (544).

Grace Buschur (84), Jordan Hemmelgarn (96) and Sarah Dillar (99) contributed to the winning total. Coldwater’s Lexi Wright and Abby Ashbaugh each shot 101.

St. Henry’s Ellen Naumann was medalist with a 78. Fort Recovery’s Jalyn Bruns (88), Minster’s Layne Voisard (94), Cassidy Werts (103) of Delphos St. John’s, Marion Local’s Hailey Wilker and Molly Rethman (111 each), New Bremen’s Abbie Burden (106) and Parkway’s Emily Clutter (123) had the low rounds for their respective schools.

Naumann earned player of the year honors and was joined on the first team by Bruns, Voisard, Hemmelgarn, Cayla Batten (Versailles), Shelby Stammen (Fort Recovery), Maddie Durham (Versailles), Wright (Coldwater), Buschur and Lindsay Cotter (Versailles). Coldwater’s Bret Ayers was coach of the year.

Coldwater also won the overall conference championship.

Cross country

Van Buren

Black Knight Invitational

The Kalida (95 points) finished third and Waynesfield-Goshen (157) was seventh behind boys team champ New Riegel (21) in the eight-team competition. Kalida’s Ryan Lucke and Will Zeller finished third and fifth respectively and Hardin Northern’s Aiden Gatchel was ninth.

In the girls race, Leipsic (76) and Waynesfield-Goshen (79) finished third and fourth respectively behnd team champ Carey (31) in the six-team competition. Waynesfield-Goshen’s Taylor Spencer was the race winner. Leipsic’s Lola Wensink (fourth) and Maddie Walther (10th) and Kalida’s Andrea Burgei (sixth) also finished in the top 10.

Liberty Center


Paulding (246 points) finished behind champion Holgate (28) in the 14-team boys Division III race. Reid Johanns (18 minutes, 15.59 seconds) led Paulding with a 20th-place finish. Woodmore’s C.J. Buchanan (16:37.82) was the race winner. Elyse Manz (23:30.71) finished 27th to lead Paulding in the girls race, won by Woodmore’s Ava Beam (19:29.26). Paulding did not post a girls team score.

Girls Soccer

Miller City 2, Continental 0

Ava Rosengarten and Madison Ellerbrock each had a goal and Natalie Koenig earned the shutout in goal.

Record: Miller City 5-4 (3-1 PCL)

Shawnee 3, Bellefontaine 0

Kennedy Jensen had all three goals and Kaelan Swallow earned the shutout in goal.

Elida 3, Van Buren 2

Brooke Reese, Analei Jackson and Payton Kuhn each had a goal.

Coldwater 5,

Allen East 0

Macy Sheffer, Olivia Tobe, Janelle Halterman, Mallory Kremer and Hope Hemmelgarn each had a goal.

Boys soccer

Fort Jennings 1,

New Knoxville 0

Jack Sellman had the match’s only goal. Jon Grote got the shutout in goal.

Shawnee 1, Botkins 0

Jake Miller had the match’s only goal and Landon Hoehn made eight saves to get the shutout in goal.

St. Marys 3, Bowling Green 0

Ryan Ibrahim, Adam Tobin and Joey Vanderhorst each had goal. Correy Nelson made six saves in earning the shutout in goal.

Girls tennis

Bryan 5, Bluffton 0

The Pirates fell to 4-12 on the season.


NWC schedule

Allen East will play at Columbus Grove for the Northwest Conference championship, and Spencerville will be at Crestview. In other games involving NWC teams, Hicksville will play at Delphos Jefferson and Paulding will play host to Bluffton. The venue for the Bluffton-Paulding game was incorrect in Saturday’s edition of The Lima News. All games are scheduled for 7 p.m. Friday kickoffs.

By Staff Reports

[email protected]

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation