Roundup: Ottawa-Glandorf girls, Shawnee boys win WBL swim titles

By Staff Reports -

DEFIANCE — The Ottawa-Glandorf girls and Shawnee boys won team titles Saturday at the Western Buckeye League swimming and diving championships.

The O-G girls finished with 323 points followed by Celina (252), Wapakoneta (230), Shawnee (204), Bath (98), Elida (67), St. Marys (44), Defiance (40), Van Wert (39) and Kenton (35).

Sydney Porinchok set a WBL record in winning the girls 100 butterfly in 59.27 seconds.

The Celina girls 200 medley relay team of Kenzie Conn, Claire Gass, Emma Guggenbiller and Zoe Rolfes had a league record time of 1:49.82, and Gass set a league mark in 100 breaststroke (1:06.72).

Conn also won the 100 backstroke and 200 freestyle and was a member of the winning 400 freestyle relay team along with Gass, Guggenbiller and Rolfes.

O-G’s Marissa Beckett was first in the 200 IM and 500 freestyle. Wapak’s Kalie Miller (50 freestyle) and Guggenbiller (100 freestyle) were also individual event winners. Miller also teamed up with Madelyn Moody, Elizabeth Gesler and Paige Schneider in winning the 200 freestyle. Defiance’s Addison Fleischman won the diving competition earlier in the week.

The Shawnee boys finished with 246 points followed by Wapakoneta (237), Ottawa-Glandorf (216), St. Marys (201), Elida (108), Van Wert (95), Kenton (79), Celina (63), Defiance (63) and Bath (25).

The Shawee 200 Medley Relay team of Charles Spyker, Evan Patterson, John Briggs and Benjamin Curl set a league record with a winning time of 1:39.81. The foursome also won the 400 freestyle relay.

St. Marys’ Kyle Lucas posted a league mark with his victory in the 100 breaststroke (1:00.01). He also won the 200 IM.

Wapak’s Alex Honigford won the 100 and 200 freestyles. Wapakoneta’s Nate Miller (50 freestyle) and Nate Metzger (500 freestyle), Briggs (100 butterfly) and Spyker (100 backstroke) were also individual even winners.

Honigford, Miller and Metzger teamed up with Danilo Martinelli to win the 200 freestyle relay. Celina’s Holden Cubberly won the diving competition earlier in the week.


Wapakoneta Invitational

WAPAKONETA — Conner won the team title with 264.5 points with Celina (196.5) third, Wapakoneta (168) fourth, Delphos Jefferson (129.5) sixth, Van Wert (108) eighth, Paulding (83) ninth and Lima Senior (58) 11th in the 12 team competiton.

Wapakoneta’s Colin Mellott (106 pounds) and Cael Rostorfer (220), Celina’s Landon Engle (120) and Paulding’s Cole Mabis (182) were among those winning individual titles.

Boys bowling

LCC 2,766,

Ottawa-Glandorf 2,675

LIMA — Jay Riepenhoff had the high game (242) and high series (477) for Lima Central Catholic at 20th Century Lanes. Sean Kelley had the high high series (419) and tied Sean Kelley for the high game (236) for O-G.

St. Marys 2,519,

Celina 2,260

ST. MARYS — Caleb Munbeck had the high game (220) and Junior Hurley had the high series (387) for St. Marys at Varsity Lanes.

Girls bowling

St. Marys 2,465, Celina 2,252

ST. MARYS — Jaden Gibson had the high game (234) and series (418) for St. Marys at Varsity Lanes. Jamie Coats had the high game (189) and Ashtyn Huber had the high series (320) for Celina.

By Staff Reports

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation