Roundup: All-NWC football honors announced

By Staff Reports -

DELPHOS — Allen East head coach Wesley Schroeder was selected as the Coach of the Year for the Northwest Conference in voting by coaches. Allen East tied for the league championship with Spencerville and Columbus Grove as all finished the season at 6-1 in league play.

Columbus Grove junior quarterback Blake Reynolds was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year. Eli Yahl, a senior linebacker from Spencerville and Blake Hershberger, a junior linebacker from Allen East were selected as Co-Defensive Players of the Year.

This years’ co-championship was the first time since 1995 that Allen East has finished at the top of the league standings. Spencerville has now won or shared the league title for the last three years with Columbus Grove’s last title coming in 2005.

Joining Reynolds on the first team offense were linemen Yahl, Mitch Douglass (CG), Brennan Davies (AE), Isaiah LaTurner (Crestview), Jackson Goecke (Spencerville), receivers Alex Schneider (CG), Cole Fletcher (AE), Zac Swaney (Ada), Bradden Crumrine (AE), running backs Brody Brecht (Crestview), Jacob Deisler (Paulding), Joel Lotz (Spencerville) and specialist Rece Verhoff (CG).

Joining Yahl and Hershberger on the first team defense were linemen Gunner King (CG), LaTurner, Garrett Neth (AE), Mason Myers (Spencerville), linebackers Brody Brecht (Crestview), Jared Basinger (CG), defensive backs Bradden Crumrine (AE), Jon Banal (CG), Logan Gerardot (Crestview), Logan McCluer (AE) and Tyson Shutler (Bluffton).

Those making the second team offense included linemen Jared Basinger (CG), Eli Myers (AE), Mason Myers (Spencerville), McCormick Ault (Bluffton), Carson Kreischer (Crestview), Cole Mabis (Paulding), receivers Gabe Clement (CG), Caleb Manz (Paulding), Eli Harter (Spencerville), running backs Neth, Gunner Grigsby (Spencerville), Tucker Neff (Bluffton), quarterback Brandon Hull (Ada) and specialist Crumrine.

Those making the second team defense included linemen Gabe Criblez (AE), Hunter Reynolds (CG), Reece Hodge-Miller (Spencerville), Fernando Garcia (Paulding), linebackers Goecke, Ezra Jones (CG), Travis Wilson (AE), Ryan Bogart (CG), Cole Mabis (Paulding), defensive backs Zac Ridenour (CG), Deyton Price (Paulding), Cody Bockey (Spencerville) and Evan Schroeder (CG).


Women’s soccer

UNOH 5, Lourdes 1

LIMA — The University of Northwestern Ohio tallied three goals in the opening 16:10 in a Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Tournament quarterfinal victory at Racer Stadium.

Julie Cazanave gave UNOH a 1-0 advantage 31 seconds into the contest with a straight-away goal off a pass from Brooke Goodrich.

The lead grew to 2-0 five minutes later on Agnes Stefansdottir’s fifth goal of the year. Jeweleen Reuille was credited with her fourth assist of the season. Cazanave then scored her second goal of the match and 13th of the year at the 16:10 mark to extend the margin to 3-0 off an assist by Olga Massombo.

Lourdes cut the deficit to 3-1 only to see UNOH answer with two goals in the final 10 minutes. Goodrich recorded her fifth goal of the season at the 81:30 mark on Massombo’s second assist of the game and fifth of the year before Massombo rounded out the scoring with an unassisted goal at the 87:19 mark, her fourth.

UNOH (17-1) will take on the Madonna/Sienna Heights winner in the WHAC semifinals at 11 a.m. Saturday at Racer Stadium.

On Tuesday, 10 members of the UNOH team were recognized as part of the WHAC postseason awards.

Jen Dervarics was chosen as the Coach of the Year while Cazanave was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year and Kate Agyemang was tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year. Reuille and Stefansdottir joined Cazanave and Agyemang on the First Team. Juliette Chotard, Dana Schueller and goalkeeper Lisa Venrath were named to the Second Team.

Viviana Mireles was selected to the Newcomer and Champions of Character Teams while Agyemang, Cazanave and Ellen Sandstroem were named to the All-Academic Team.


Earlham 3, Bluffton 0

RICHMOND — The Beavers (7-23) fell 25-19, 25-21, 25-20 in the opening round of the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference tournament.

Remi Bower had nine kills and 10 digs, Maddie White had 15 assists and 14 digs and Ottawa-Glandorf grad Brooke Kleman had 11 digs for Bluffton.

By Staff Reports

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation