Waynesfield Raceway Park: Classic to honor Ferkel

Special to The Lima News

WAYNESFIELD — After honoring one of Ohio’s racing sons – Jack Hewitt – Waynesfield Raceway Park will continue that tradition with the Rick Ferkel Classic on Friday.

Racing will be the NAPA Auto Parts FAST 410 Sprints vying for $5,000 to win ($400 to start the A-main) along with the 305 sprints battling for $1,000 to win thanks to Rich Farmer at NAPA Auto Parts. Also making their appearance at “The Field” will be the AMSA Lightening Mini Sprints.

“I can’t thank all the race fans and teams enough for the huge turn-out for the Jack Hewitt Classic,” Waynesfield Raceway Park Promoter Shane Helms said in a news release. “It was a record crowd for Waynesfield and a great way to honor a true racing legend. I want to thank Jack for his support, advice and how great he was with the fans. I hope we get the same response to honor the Ohio Traveler, one of the best ambassadors of the sport out there.

“We know we have some things we need to adjust to make the experience better for our great fans. Believe me we have had many discussions and are making changes. Again, I can’t thank everyone enough for the support we have gotten. We will continue to work hard to make improvements and have great events at Waynesfield.”

Helms promoted the first Rick Ferkel Classic at Atomic Speedway near Chillicothe in 2018. In the event sanctioned by the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions Presented by Mobil 1, Cole Duncan scored the win.

Ferkel, one of the original “outlaws,” is enshrined in the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and Museum. Ferkel, who lived in nearby Findlay and Tiffin most of his life, recorded nearly 400 sprint car wins during his driving career. Known for traveling wherever there was a “big” money show across the country, Ferkel became known as “the Ohio Traveler.” Ferkel currently helps his son, Ricky, who competes in a sprint car in Michigan.

There have been two events in 2019 at Waynesfield Raceway Park. Indiana’s Justin Peck scored the FAST 410 win in April while Shawn Dancer took the NRA 360 sprint victory. The Jack Hewitt Classic on July 3 saw Cody Gardner score his first-ever sprint car win with the BOSS non-wing series while Cale Conley scored the FAST 410 winged win and Max Stambaugh claimed the NRA victory.

Tickets for the Rick Ferkel Classic are $18 for adults (11 and older), $16 for senior citizens (62 and older) with kids 10 and younger admitted free. Pit passes will be $35. Gates will open at 5 p.m. with racing underway at 7:45 p.m.

For more information go to waynesfieldracewaypark.net.


Special to The Lima News

Post navigation