Breece, Pearson top All-State teams

For the Lima News

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Marion Local’s Sam Huelsman was tabbed as the Division VI defensive players of the year after the Division VI and VII football All-Ohio teams were announced Sunday by a statewide media panel. The teams were selected by members of the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

During the regular season, Huelsman led the Flyers to another state berth and the defensive player of the year in the Midwest Athletic Conference and the defensive player of the northwest district, had 77 tckles and five sacks.

Lima Central Catholic’s Micah Pearson was named a first-team All-State performer as a defensive linman in Division VI and teammate Ethan Truex was a special mention honoree.

Spencerville’s Eli Yahl garnred second team All-State honors and fellow Bearcat Kale Lee and Cannan Johnson were tabbed a special mention honoree. Yahl recorded 143 tackles and was the Northwest Conference player of the year. Columbus Grove’s Cody Johnson received second team accolades. Allen East’s Cole Fletcher was also a special mention selection.

In Division VII, Pandora-Gilboa’s Jared Breece was a first-team choice and fellow Rocket receiver Travis Maag was recognized on the second team. Breece, the Blanchard Valley Player of the year, passed for 1,937 yards and 30 touchdowns with only three interceptions during the regular season. The Rocket standout, a starter since his freshman year, led the Rockets to back-to-back playoff appearance, a BVC title and a 29-13 overall record. In his career he passed for more than 6,000 yards and 75 touchdowns.

Pandora-Gilboa’s Gage Hovest was a third-team choice and fellow Rocket lineman Zeb George was a special mention selection.

Crestview’s Drew Kline was a second team quarterback choice and Wade Sheets was honored as a special team. Leipsic’s Tyler Hiegel was also a special team honoree.

On Monday, the Division IV and V All-Ohio teams will be announced, followed by the Division II and III teams on Tuesday. The Division I All-Ohio team and the Ohio Mr. Football Award will be announced Wednesday.

For the Lima News

Post navigation