Roundup: New Bremen advances in D-IV volleyball

By Staff Reports -





CLAYTON — New Bremen advanced to the Division IV regional volleyball finals with a 25-22, 25-14, 25-13 victory Thursday night at Northmont High School.

The Cardinals will play Jackson Center, a 3-1 winner against Russia, for the regional championship at 2 p.m. Saturday. Advance tickets for the title match will be available at the high school from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. today and 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. today and 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. Saturday at Wagners IGA. No individual match stats were posted by deadline.



St. Henry running back Zach Niekamp (offensive player of the year), Marion Local linebacker Sam Huelsman (defensive player of the year) and Marion Local’s Tim Goodwin and Anna’s Nick Marino (co-coaches of the year) received top football honors in the Midwest Athletic Conference.

Joining Niekamp on the first team offense were Marion Local quarterback Nathan Bruns, running backs Riley Huelskamp (Anna) and Nolan Habodasz (Marion Local), wide receivers Jeffrey Richards (Anna), Cole Frilling (Coldwater) Nick Tangeman (Marion Local), end Cody Frericks (Minster), center Issac Dodds (Anna), guards Brayden Farley (Anna) and Payton Lange (St. Henry), tackles Jack Knapke (Fort Recovery) and Devin Siefring (St. Henry), kicker Blake Dippold (Coldwater), punter Brandon Fleck (Marion Local) and utility athletes Bart Bixler (Anna) and Jake Hemmelgarn (Coldwater).

Joining Huelsman on the first team defense were ends Brandon Heitkamp (New Bremen) and Evan Hiestand (Versailles), linemen Darrin Hayes (Marion Local) and Jacob Rindler (New Bremen), linebackers Mitch Niekamp (Coldwater), August Boehnlein (Minster) and Ben Wenning (Coldwater), cornerbacks Matt Rethman (Marion Local) and Jay Knapke (St. Henry) and safeties John Tangeman (Marion Local) and Sam Lefeld (St. Henry).

Cross country

State tourney

gets postponed

COLUMBUS — The Ohio High School Athletic Association has postponed Saturday’s state cross country tournament and is moving the championships to Saturday, Nov. 10, due to flood conditions on the course at National Trail Raceway in Hebron, Executive Director Jerry Snodgrass announced.

“While I wholeheartedly understand the impact this move has for all those involved in the event, this is the best solution for the safety and well-being of our participating student-athletes,” Snodgrass said. “National Trail Raceway has closed the course due to flooding with the on-going rain we have had in central Ohio, so the conditions will hopefully be much better by next weekend.”


Men’s soccer

WHAC honors

UNOH players

Twelve University of Northwestern Ohio players have been recognized with postseason Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference honors.

Midfielder Luka Pekovic was chosen as the WHAC Defensive Player of the Year and was joined on the first team by midfielder Felipe Lupion and defender Mikhail Radchenko. Defender Marc Skelton was named to the second team while forward Shea Mannings, midfielders Mutu Raza and Lucas Vazquez and defender Jack Lewis were selected to the all-newcomer team.

Midfielders Nick Doutch, Dumisani Manyange and David Moreno and defender Irvin Machote were selected to the all-academic team. Machote was also named to the Champions of Character Team.

Match gets

pushed back

ADA — The Ohio Athletic Conference tournament semifinal between Ohio Northern and Capital, scheduled for Thursday at Bernlohr Stadium in Bexley, has been postponed due to heavy rains in the area.

The match has been rescheduled for 7 tonight at Bernlohr Stadium.

Women’s soccer

Ohio Northern 2, Mount Union 0

ADA — Emma Barney and Jenna Fuller each had a goal as ONU advanced to the OAC tournament championship match against host Otterbein, a 1-0 winner against Capital, at 7 p.m. Saturday.

Racers receive


Nine UNOH players have received postseason WHAC recognition.

Forward and Kalida graduate Jackie Gardner was chosen as the WHAC offensive player of the year while midfielder Iris Rabot was selected as the newcomer of the tear. Both were named first team all-WHAC along with forward Kate Agyemang, midfielder Julie Cazanave, defender Brooke Goodrich and defender Dana Schuller.

Forward Aylin Ozen and midfielder Ellen Sandstrom were selected to the all-newcomer team while Agyemang, Cazanave, Gardner and defender Milly Hawkins were named to the all-academic team and Sandstrom to the Champions of Character Team.


ONU 3, Baldwin Wallace 1

ADA — With the 21-25, 25-20, 25-20, 25-22 victory, the 20th-ranked Polar Bears (21-7) advances to play host to Muskingum for the OAC tournament championship at 2 p.m. Saturday. Sydney Bapst, Chelsea Huppert and McKenna Jordan each had 13 kills, Katie Wade had 47 assists and McKenna Hostetler had 17 digs for ONU.

Cross country

Sreenan earns

among top rookies

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. — University of Dayton freshman and Lima Central Catholic graduate Emily Sreenan has been named to the Atlantic 10 All-Rookie Team which consist of the top seven women’s freshmen finishers at this past weekend’s conference championship.

Sreenan recorded a time of 18 minutes, 31.2 seconds to finish 47th for the runner-up Flyers.


By Staff Reports

Post navigation