Wapakoneta edges Whitmer in boys soccer

Boys Soccer

Division I

Wapakoneta 5, Whitmer 4

TOLEDO — Kyle Lenhart had three goals and Hunter Coffey and Juan Fernandez each had one for Wapak (11-5), which plays at Toledo St. John’s at 5 p.m. Thursday.


Player of the Year Landon Bartlett (Kenton) was joined on the first team by Bath’s Brenton Brock, Celina’s Jim Aquino, Defiance’s Jon Weisgerber, Elida’s Draek Littler, Kenton’s Hayden Hicks and Isaac Mendez, Ottawa-Glandorf’s Ethan White, St. Marys’ Ethan Rose, Shawnee’s Ryan McGuire, Jake Miller and Landon Hoehn and Wapakoneta’s Luke Beach. Kenton’s Jamie Bartlett was coach of the year.


Ada’s Chris Reyes (player of the year) and Bluffton’s Steve Smucker (coach of the year) earned top honors in the Northwest Conference.

Joining Reyes on the first team were Bluffton’s Luke Young, who finished second in the coaches’ player of the year vote, Dakota Clymer, Jonathon Shriner and Jesse Montel, Ada’s Noah Garmon, Allen East’s Bryce Wilcox and Christian Hedrick, Lincolnview’s Jared Pollock and Kyle Wallis, Spencerville’s Zach Ringwald and Paulding’s Kolya Pascshall.

Girls Soccer

Division III

Crestview 4, Delphos St. John’s 1

CONVOY — The Knights (3-13-1) play Lima Central Catholic at 2 p.m. Saturday at Spartan Stadium.

Elly Wrasman had the goal for Delphos St. John’s (1-12).

Allen East 6, Ada 1

HARROD — Devyn Hopkins and Kinsey Helser had two goals each and Allen East’s Kate Newland and Gabby Scott and Ada’s Timber Blankenship each had a tally. Allen East (9-4-4) plays at 2 p.m. Saturday at Liberty-Benton.

Ada finished its season 4-12-1.

Miller City 7, Paulding 0

MILLER CITY — Miller City (6-10) plays at 2 p.m. Saturday at Archbold. Kayleen Maas had three goals and Renae Schroeder, Lexi Heuerman, Tava Schroeder and Hanna Brown had one each.

Columbus Grove 2, Fort Jennings 1

FORT JENNINGS — Columbus Grove’s Autumn Thompson and Emily Watt and Fort Jennings’ Madison Neidert each had a goal. Grove will play at 2 p.m. Saturday at Kalida.


Player of the Year Jency Jenkins (Elida) was joined on the first team by Bath’s Chandler Clark, Celina’s Reilly Cox, Defiance’s Tammy Aguilera, Elida’s Cienna Kuhn, Kenton’s Hannah Holland, Ottawa-Glandorf’s Erin Kaufman, Shawnee’s Madi Mason and Sophia Fusillo, St. Marys’ Emma White and Emma Wibbeler and Wapakoneta’s Emily Ruppert and Abbigail Ruppert. St. Marys’ Nick Wilson was coach of the year.


Spencerville’s Kelsey Shaffer (player of the year) and Kathy Goecke (coach of the year) received top honors.

Joining Shaffer on the first team were Spencerville’s Raygen Martinez, second in the coaches’ vote for player of the year, and Jenna Litsey, Bluffton’s Kayla White, Laykin Garmatter and Averey Rumer, Delphos Jefferson’s Maddie McConnahea, Allen East’s Kinsey Helser, Gabby Scott and Ally Richardson and Ada’s Katie Buttefield and Brenna Hissong.


Division II

Celina 3, Kenton 0

CELINA — The Bulldogs (11-12) won 25-18, 25-18, 25-8 and will play at 5:30 p.m. Thursday against Shawnee in Wauseon.

Brooke Robbins had nine kills, Maddy Luebke had 15 kills, Maria Lutz had nine kills, Zoe McNeilan had seven digs and Samantha Carlin had 35 assists for Celina. Kenton finishes its season 3-15.

Division IV

Ridgemont 3, Cory-Rawson 1

MT. VICTORY — The Golden Gophers (11-6) advanced to play Ada at 5:30 p.m. Thursday at Arlington.

C-R finished its season 5-13.

Hardin Northern 3, Riverdale 1

DOLA — Hardin Northern (6-9) won 25-14, 25-21, 22-25, 25-22 and will play Carey on Thursday with the start time and location to be announced. Rylie Bame had 12 kills and 12 digs, Gabby Weaver had three aces, 17 assists and seven digs, Morgan Pauly had nine kills, Emma Miller had 11 digs and Kennedy Hall had 12 assists for Hardin Northern.

Leipsic 3, Perry 0

LEIPSIC — The Vikings (21-2) won 25-21, 25-11, 25-6 and will play host to Temple Christian at 7 p.m. Thursday at a time and location yet to be announced. Hayley Heitmeyer had 18 kills, Lyndie Hazelton had seven aces and 15 assists, Carlee Siefker had eight kills and 10 digs, Selena Lorendo had 16 assists and four aces and Brooke Brown had 12 digs for Leipsic. Perry finished its season 3-15.

LCC 3, Ottoville 0

LIMA — The Thunderbirds won 25-11, 25-11, 25-19 and will play host to Kalida at 5:30 p.m. Thursday. Victoria Lauck had 16 digs, Hannah Riepenoff had 25 assists, Rosie Williams had three blocks and nine kills and Kennedy Parker had three aces and nine kills for LCC. Ottoville finished its season 6-16.

Crestview 3, Delphos Jefferson 0

CONVOY — The Knights (17-6) won 25-4, 25-13, 25-15 and will playsat 7 p.m. Thursday at St. Henry. Lexi Gregory had 17 kills and 17 digs, Maddy Lamb had 16 assists and four aces, Avery McCoy had 13 assists and seven kills and Bailey Gregory had 24 digs for Crestview. Delphos Jefferson finished its season 5-18.

Minster 3, Delphos St. John’s 1

MINSTER — The Wildcats won 22-25, 25-14, 25-6, 25-11 and will play at 7 p.m. Thursday at New Bremen. Ava Sharp had kills kills, Danielle Barhorst had nine kills, Brooke Wolf had 14 assists, Kaitlyn Wolf had 22 assists, Emily Stubbs had 24 digs and Ivy Wolf had 12 digs for Minster (9-8). St. John’s ends its season 3-17.

New Knoxville 3,

Waynesfield-Goshen 0

NEW KNOXVILLE — The Rangers (15-8) won 25-9, 25-5, 25-7 and will play Fort Recovery at 5:30 p.m. Thursday at New Bremen. Waynesfield-Goshen ends its season 3-17.


Ottawa-Glandorf’s Taylor Alt (player of the year) and Ann Ellerbrock (coach of the year) received top honors.

Joining Alt on the first team were Celina’s Maddy Luebke, Defiance’s Janelle Bryant, O-G’s Claire Eiden, Shawnee’s Kelsey Fischbach and Amber Greeley and Van Wert’s Adrianna Grothause.


Paulding’s Sadie Estle (player of the year) and Crestview’s Tammy Gregory (coach of the year) received top honors.

Joining Estle on the first team were Columbus Grove’s Rylee Sybert, second in the coaches’ player of the year vote, and Haley Radabaugh, Crestview’s Lexi Gregory, third in player of the year vote, and Bailey Gregory, Lincolnview’s Lakin Brant and Kendall Bollenbacher and Ada’s Megan Light.


Coldwater’s Lauren Gilliland (player of the year) and St. Henry’s Tricia Rosenbeck (coach of the year) received top honors in the Midwest Athletic Conference.

Joining Gillian on the first team were Fort Recovery’s Cassidy Martin and Madison Rammel, Marion Local’s Carrie Fesenmyer and Natalie Rethman, New Bremen’s Macy Puthoff, New Knoxville’s Tasia Lauth, St. Henry’s Hannah Bruns, Carleigh Deitsch and Addy Vaughn and Versailles’ Elizabeth Ording and Lindsey Winner.


Elgin’s Josi Wolf (player of the year) and Wendy Muselin (coach of the year) received top honors in the Northwest Central Conference.

Joining Wolf on the first team were Elgin’s Bekah Muselin, Hardin Northern’s Rylie Bame, Lehman Catholic’s Olivia Lucia and Alexis Snipes, Ridgemont’s Cassidy Knapp and Shaylee McGrath and Riverside’s Shelby Giles.



UNOH’s Heitkamp

earns national honor

LIMA — New Bremen graduate Devon Heitkamp, a middle hitter on the Northwestern Ohio volleyball team, has been selected as the NAIA National Attacker of the Week.

Heitkamp, who was named as the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Attacker of the Week on Monday, recorded 98 kills while hitting .354 as the Racers won four of five matches.


Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation