St. Henry boy bowlers finish third in Division II

By Jack Hammill -

COLUMBUS — Defending state champ St. Marys and St. Henry pursued the Division II boys bowling state title Friday at Wayne Webb’s Columbus Bowl.

St. Marys got out of the gate in better position than St. Henry with an 836 game compared to the Redskins’ 789. At that point the Roughriders were nine pins off the cut line and St. Henry was 56 pins back.

St. Henry jumped from 15th to fifth overall with a 1,041. It was a strong team effort with four of the five bowlers rolling between 209 and 224. The Redskins then turned in a 960 that kept them firmly in the field of eight, now in second place behind St Paris Graham Local.

The Roughriders rallied some in game three with a 905 that moved them up the standings to the 10 slot 46 pins out of last spot for the field of eight. They were still in the mix but in need of a strong baker run. Their three-game baker set of 547 was not enough to gain entry into the final round field of eight. They would finish the event with a score of 3,135 for ninth in the field of 16, 21 pins behind eighth place Pemberville Eastwood, the Northwest District winner.

St. Henry rolled a 602 in the baker set to assume the lead with a 3,392, pairing the Redskins with Eastwood in the first round.

The two teams hit a pair of “fresh lanes” and the initial response of St. Henry coach Travis Slater was that maybe they would have been better off on a pair that had been opened up a little more by added bowling. The Redskins won the first two games 166-159 and 170-157.

The Eagles came back to win game three 227-148. St. Henry then clinched the series with a 171-147 game four win.

St. Henry then took game one (186-166) from Mechanicsburg in the semifinals. Mechanicsburg then went on to take the next three games (191-143, 213-194, 254-162) and move on to the final where it defeated Plain City Jonathan Alder in three straight games (190-129, 180-161, 211-161). By virtue of making the semifinals and being the top seed going into the eight-team championship round, the Redskins finished third.

Caden Seitz of Coldwater rolled a 590 set to pace WOHSBC bowlers that rolled Friday. His performance earned him 15th place and honorable mention recognition for OHSAA bowler of the year honorees.

Jordan Thomas paced St. Henry with a 586 (17th) followed by Trey Buehler and Logan Rindler with identical sets of 581 (19th). Gunner Kruse was the top Roughrider with a 543 (38th).

By Jack Hammill

Post navigation