Roundup: Ottawa-Glandorf defeats Bluffton in overtime in girls soccer

By Mike Purdy -

BLUFFTON — Kelsey Erford’s penalty kick in overtime gave Ottawa-Glandorf a 3-2 victory against Bluffton in the opening round of the Division III girls soccer tournament.

Erford and teammate Caitlin Bockrath each had second-half goals. Averey Rumer and Kayla White each had a tally for Bluffton.

The Titans advanced to play at 5 p.m. Wednesday at Liberty Center.

Allen East 3, Cory-Rawson 0

HARROD — Olivia Silone, Julia Meyer and Olivia Lawrence each had a goal in the opening round of the Division III girls soccer tournament. Lauren Criblez made two saves in earning the shutout in goal.

The Mustangs will next play at Riverdale at 7 p.m. Wednesday.

Crestview 9, Ada 1

CONVOY — The Knights moved on in D-III to play at Liberty-Benton at 5 p.m. Wednesday. No other information was reported about this match by deadline.

Shawnee 8, Coldwater 1

SHAWNEE TOWNSHIP — Sophia Fusillo had five goals and Rachel Russ, Alaina Behnke and Tessa Jordan each had one for Shawnee in a regular season matchup. Bella Fusillo contributed a pair of assists. Grace O’Connor had five saves in goal for Shawnee.

Maura Hoying converted a penalty kick for the Coldwater (8-6-2) goal.

Boys soccer

Van Buren 2, Continental 0

CONTINENTAL — Trevor Brecht made four saves in goal for Continental.

Ottawa-Glandorf 0, Kalida 0

KALIDA — Brayden Recker made five saves for Kalida while O-G counterpart Ethan Alt made three.

Ottoville 3, Riverdale 1

Evan Boecker, Ryan Suever and Connor Fanning each had a goal for Ottoville.


The Western Ohio Soccer League has released its all-league honorees.

For the boys, Jake Emrick (Lehman Catholic) was named the Player of the Year and Kevin Lynch (Botkins) was honored as the Coach of the Year.

Joing Emrick on the all-league first team were Zane Paul (Botkins), Connor Smock (Botkins), Gavin Gooser (Jackson Center), Trevor Elliott (Jackson Center), Michael Denning (LC), Christian Goettemoeller (LC), Ben Brinkman (Lima Central Catholic), Joseph Baenke (New Knoxville), Jonah Lageman (NK), Levi Shenk (Temple Christian), Cameron Worsham (TC), Ethan Butcher (Botkins) and Ryan Goettemoeller (LC).

For the girls, Maura Hoying (Coldwater) was recognized as the Player of the Year and Mike Noll (Anna) was named the Coach of the Year.

Joining Hoying on the all-league first team were Ally Richardson (Allen East), Emily Albers (Anna), Claire Bensman (Anna), Abby Gaydosh (Anna), Taylor Noll (Anna), Paige Lane (Botkins), Erin Schritz (Coldwater), Abby Jones (Lehman Catholic), Grace Monnin (LC), Molly Safreed (LC), Avery Rice (LCC), Cecilia Riepenhoff (LCC), Savanna Hostetler (Anna) and Camille Brown (LC).


Ottawa-Glandorf 3,

Columbus Grove 0

OTTAWA — The Titans won 25-22, 25-23, 25-23 to close out the regular season.

Taylor Alt had 19 kills, Carly Alt had 14 kills and 16 digs, Erica Annesser had three aces, Brooke Kleman had 22 digs and Kendra Kahle had 39 assists and 17 digs for O-G (18-3).

Paige Bellman had 10 kills, Carlee McCluer had eight kills and eight digs, Haley Radabaugh had five blocks and six kills, Rylee Sybert had 20 assists and 12 digs and Amy Vorst had 15 digs for Grove (16-6)

Bluffton 3, Cory-Rawson 2

RAWSON — The Pirates triumphed 25-20, 23-25, 25-21, 15-25, 15-12. Josie Stever had five aces, Aimee Ritter had 31 assists, Ali Moser had 29 digs, Katie Prater had nine kills and Ashley Eachus had six kills for Bluffton.

Hardin Northern 3, Crestline 0

CRESTLINE — The Polar Bears finished their season 16-4 with the 25-11, 28-26, 25-9 victory.

Madison Robson had six aces, Shelby Alloway had five aces and eight kills, Rylie Bame had 15 kills and 13 digs and Cassidy Deckling had six kills and seven digs for Hardin Northern, which won the Northwest Central Conference championship with a 9-0 mark.

Crestview 3, Hicksville 1

CONVOY — The Knights claimed a 25-13, 22-25, 25-20, 25-9 victory. Ally McCoy had 18 kills and 10 blocks, Lexi Gregory had 16 kills and 13 digs, Abby Bagley had 32 assists and Bailey Gregory had 16 digs for Crestview.



Ohio Northern 3,

John Carroll 0

ADA — No. 21-ranked Ohio Northern wrapped up the final day of the ONU Triangular with a 25-14, 25-18, 25-13 sweep over Ohio Athletic Conference-foe John Carrollat the ONU Sports Center.

The Polar Bears improved to 21-4 overall and 4-1 in the OAC, while the Blue Streaks drop to 5-20 (1-4 OAC).

McKenna Jordan led the way offensively with a game-high 11 kills, while Chelsea Huppert added nine kills for ONU.

Katie Wade recorded a game-high 34 assists and added eight digs, while Megan Nieszala posted a team-best 16 digs.

Women’s cross country

ONU’s Richards

10th at Classic

PRINCIPIA, Ill. — Emily Richards finished 10th of 332 runners on Saturday afternoon to lead the Polar Bears at the Cowbell Classic Pre-Nationals meet.

The Polar Bears (63-26 overall) finished 17th of 36 teams at the event.

Head coach Jason Maus improved his overall record at Ohio Northern to 749-342 and surpassed former head coach Brian Cole to become to winningest women’s head cross country coach in school history.

Northern was paced by Richards, who ran a career-fastest time of 21:50.49.

Men’s cross country

Polar Bears 12th

at Cowbell meet

PRINCIPIA, Ill. — Ian McVey and Matt Molinaro led the Ohio Northern men’s cross country team to a 12th place finish at the 38-team Principia (Ill.) Cowbell Classic meet on Saturday afternoon.

The Polar Bears improve to 72-17 overall.

Head coach Jason Maus surpassed the 900-win plateau with the 12th place finish.

McVey led ONU across the finish line, posting a 24th place finish in 25:36.82, while Molinaro finished 40th of 354 runners in a season-best 25:55.33.

Senior Bobby Borger (Perrysburg) finished 61st overall in the race and was the third Polar Bear to cross the finish line in 26:12.32.

By Mike Purdy

Mike Purdy can be reached at 567-242-0451.

Mike Purdy can be reached at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation