Five Indians, two Reds are All-Stars

Staff and news services

NEW YORK — The Cincinnati Reds and Cleveland Indians each had one player voted into the starting lineup for the baseball All-Star Game on July 11 in Miami.

Reds shortstop Zack Cozart finished 86,000 votes ahead of Corey Seager of the Los Angeles Dodgers to get to his first All-Star game as a starter for the National League. Indians third baseman Jose Ramirez beat out Josh Donaldson of the Toronto Blue Jays by 54,000 votes to get a spot in the American League lineup.

They joined Aaron Judge, Carlos Correa and Nolan Arenado among 12 first-time starters, the most since voting was returned to fans in 1970.

Just one player was picked from the World Series champion Cubs: reliever Wade Davis, who wasn’t even with Chicago when it ended a 108-year title drought last fall. The Cubs had seven All-Stars last season.

Two of the first-time starters are from the Houston Astros, who have the best record in the major leagues: shortstop Correa and outfielder George Springer. Second baseman Jose Altuve was elected to his third start.

Joey Votto, a reserve at first base, and Cozart were the Reds’ only selections. Cleveland pitchers Corey Kluber and Andrew Miller, along with shortstop Francisco Lindor and outfielder Michael Brantley were named to the AL team.

The American League starters are: catcher Salvador Perez (Royals), first baseman Justin Smoak (Blue Jays), second baseman Jose Altuve (Astros), Ramirez at third base, shortstop Carlos Correa (Astros), designated hitter Corey Dickerson (Rays) and outfielders Aaron Judge (Yankees), Mike Trout (Angels) and George Springer (Astros).

The National League starters are: catcher Buster Posey (Giants), first baseman Ryan Zimmerman (Nationals), second baseman Daniel Murphy (Nationals), third baseman Nolan Arenado (Rockies), Cozart at shortstop and outfielders Bryce Harper (Nationals), Charlie Blackmon (Rockies) and Marcell Ozuna (Marlins).

The American League pitchers are: Chris Sale (Red Sox), Dallas Keuchel (Astros), Ervin Santana (Twins), Jason Vargas (Royals), Luis Severino (Yankees), Yu Darvish (Rangers), Michael Fulmer (Tigers), Lance McCullers (Astros), Craig Kimbrel (Red Sox), Dellin Betances (Yankees), Kluber and Miller.

The AL reserves are: Gary Sanchez (Yankees), Yonder Alonso (A’s), Starlin Castro (Yankees), Jonathan Schoop (Orioles), Miguel Sano (Twins), Mookie Betts (Red Sox), Avasail Garcia (White Sox), Nelson Cruz (Seattle), Lindor and Brantley.

The National League pitchers are: Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers), Max Scherzer (Nationals), Robbie Ray (Diamondbacks), Zack Greinke (Diamondbacks), Carlos Martinez (Cardinals), Stephen Strasburg (Nationals), Kenley Jansen (Dodgers), Greg Holland (Rockies), Wade Davis (Cubs), Brad Hand (Padres), Corey Knebel (Brewers) and Pat Neshek (Phillies).

The National League reserves are: Yadier Molina (Cardinals), Paul Goldschmidt (Diamondbacks), D.J. LeMahieu (Rockies), Josh Harrison (Pirates), Jake Lamb (Diamondbacks), Corey Seager (Dodgers), Cody Bellinger (Dodgers), Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins), Michael Conforto (Mets), Ender Inciarte (Braves) and Votto.

Staff and news services

More Stories

Post navigation