Lima Senior’s Ward shares TRAC player of the year honor

By Mike Purdy -

LIMA — Lima Senior Jarius Ward has been named co-Three Rivers Athletic Conference player of the year with Vincent Williams of Toledo St. John’s in boys basketball.

Ward was also named to the first team. Teammate Jaleel King was named to the second team. The Spartans’ BJ Miller and Marquis Coleman received honor mention recognition. Ed Heintschel of St. John’s was selected as the coach of the year.


Versailles’ Justin Ahrens (player of the year) and Travis Swank (coach of the year) received top honors.

Joining Ahrens on the first team were Timothy Kreeger and Jared Wurst of Delphos St. John’s, Coldwater’s Dylan Thobe, Fort Recovery’s Micaiah Cox, Marion Local’s Nathan Bruns and Tyler Mescher, Minster’s Aaron Ernst, New Knoxville’s Nick Topp, St. Henry’s Tyler Schlarman and Versailles’ AJ Ahrens and Alex Wendel.


Division II

Bryan 50, Celina 41

PAULDING — Bryan advanced to play Ottawa-Glandorf at 6:15 p.m. Friday in Paulding. Brett Schwieterman had 15 points and Kole Murlin scored 10 for Celina.

Van Wert 68, St. Marys 59

PAULDING — Van Wert will play Elida at 8 p.m. Friday in Paulding. Jacoby Kelly (18), Nate Place (17), Drew Bagley (15) and Dylan Lautzenheizer (10) each scored in double digits for Van Wert. Derek Jay had 20 points and Braeden Dunlap scored 19 for St. Marys.

Division III

Parkway 70, Riverdale 40

ELIDA — Parkway will play Wayne Trace at 6:15 p.m. Friday at the Elida Fieldhouse. Caleb Kinney had 20 points and Mason Baxter scored 17 for Parkway.

Bluffton 60, Coldwater 59

ELIDA — Bluffton will play Carey at 8 p.m. Friday at the Elida Fieldhouse. Luke Denecker (19), Gabe Denecker (12) and Zane Meyers (10) all scored in double digits for Bluffton. Jacob Wenning had 15 points and Dylan Thobe and Neal Muhlenkamp each scored 14 for Coldwater.

Division IV

St. Henry 72,

Waynesfield-Goshen 37

COLDWATER — St. Henry will play Upper Scioto Valley at 6:15 p.m. Friday in Coldwater. Tyler Schlarman (13), Caden Niekamp (13) and Ryan Luttmer (12) all scored in double digits for St. Henry.

New Bremen 65, Ada 31

COLDWATER — New Bremen will play Fort Recovery at 8 p.m. Friday in Coldwater. Nolan Bornhorst had 16 points and Tate Meyers scored 12 for New Bremen. Owen Conley had 10 points and Seth Evans scored nine for Ada.

Girls basketball

New Bremen tickets

NEW BREMEN — Presale tickets for the New Bremen-Minster district semifinal at 8 p.m. Thursday 3/2 in Wapakoneta will be sold from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Wednesday at the high school and Thursday from 7:45 a.m. until 8:15 .m. at the junior high and from 8:30 a.m. until 4 p.m. at the high school. Presale cost is $6 for adults and $4 for students. All tickets at the door will be $6. There will also be a $2 parking fee.



OAC honors

3 from ONU

ADA — Three Ohio Northern wrestlers were named All-Ohio Athletic Conference in wrestling for the 2016-17 season on voting conducted by the league’s seven head coaches.

Gavin Nelson and Nate Barcaskey were named first team all-conference and Seth Meyer was a second team selection.

By Mike Purdy

Mike Purdy can be reached at 567-242-0451.

Mike Purdy can be reached at 567-242-0451.

Post navigation