Roundup: Coldwater to play for volleyball state title

FAIRBORN — No. 4 ranked Coldwater defeated No. 7 Byesville Meadowbrook 25-17, 21-25, 25-18, 25-13 Thursday to advance to the Division III girls volleyball state championship match at Wright State’s Nutter Center.

Jenna Leugers had 14 kills, 22 assists, six aces and 10 digs, Madison Wendel had 14 kills, Morgan Blasingame had 13 kills, Mia Knapke had 23 assists, Spencer Etzler had 18 digs and Rachel Schroyer had 11 digs for Coldwater (25-4), which will play top-ranked Mentor Lake Catholic (26-2), a 23-25, 25-16, 25-17, 25-17 victor against No. 3 Versailles (22-7), at 1 p.m. Saturday at the same venue. Meadowbrook finished its season at 25-3.


The Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association has announced its all-district honors.

Among the girls, in Division II, St. Marys’ Aerial Fast (player of the year), Nick Wilson (public school coach of the year) and Jeff James (assistant coach of the year) received top honors.

Area players joining Fast on the first team included Rachel Clark (Bath), Raven Harris (Celina), Analei Jackson (Elida), Gabi Wetherill (Kenton), Bella Hile (Shawnee) and Ella Jacobs (St. Marys).

Area players making the second team included Paige Duram (Elida), Abi Temple (Kenton), Kamryn Morris (Shawnee) and Gabby Keller (St. Marys). The team sportsmanship award went to Bath

In D-III, Ottawa-Glandorf’s Makenna Siefker was the player of the year.

Area players joining Siefker included Rilynn Jones (Allen East), Julia Mehaffie (Bluffton), Samantha Scoles (Bluffton), Bryn Tegenkamp (Continental), Allie Stechschulte (Kalida), Maddie Erford (Miller City), Bri Douglass (Ottawa-Glandorf) and Myka Aldrich (Ottawa-Glandorf).

Area players making the second team included Ella Marshall (Ada), Aubrey Young (Allen East), Brianna Keller (Coldwater), Olivia Stolly (Lima Central Catholic) and Clara Beach (Ottawa-Glandorf).

No area girls players made the D-I first or second teams.

Among the boys, in D-II, Shawnee’s Austin Miller (player of the year) and Kenton’s Jamie Bartlett (public school coach of the year) and Jordan Martin (assistant coach of the year) received top honors.

Area players joining Miller on the first team included Ethan Thomas (Elida), Colby Quay (Kenton), Connor Defibaugh (Kenton), Collin Scheid (Shawnee), Matteo Fusillo (Shawnee), AJ Dieringer (St. Marys) and Quinn Holtzapple (St. Marys).

Area players making the second team included Cohen Callahan (Bath), Max Baumstark (Celina), Zach Gerber (Celina), Seth Manns (Kenton) and Sam Tenwalde (Shawnee).

In D-III, Continental’s Rhenn Armey and Ottawa Hills’ Adam Ayad shared player of the year honors and Spencerville’s Josh Van Gorder was selected the public school coach of the year. The team sportsmaship award went to Ottoville.

Area players joining Armey on the first team included Eden Antrim (Bluffton), Justin Good (Bluffton), Drew Fersch (Kalida), Jaden Smith (Kalida), Ethan Barlage (Miller City), Carter Horstman (Ottoville), Kellen Schlagbaum (Ottoville) and Will Gallaspie (Spencerville).

Area players making the second team included Braxton Stegbauer (Continental), Braylon Smith (Kalida), Mason Rieman (Miller City), Dave Westrick (Ottawa-Glandorf), Pretson Mansfield (Ottoville), Trey Landwehr (Ottoville) and Emerson Layman (Spencerville).

Wapakoneta’s Kyle Beach was second team in D-I.

Armey also received a $250 academic scholarship. Bartlett also was recognized with a milestone honor for reaching 150 career victories.


Women’s soccer

ONU players honored

ADA — Ohio Northern’s Becky Moss, Kylie Cabana and Alyssa Beckett headline a list of six Polar Bears earning All-Ohio Athletic Conference honors in voting conducted by the league’s 10 head coaches.

Moss was named the conference’s Goalkeeper of the Year, Cabana was selected as the Co-Defender of the Year, and Beckett earned Midfielder of the Year honors.

Jill Roberts joined those three on the All-OAC first team. Bri Straus and Emma Bowman were selected to the All-OAC second team.

Reach The Lima News sports department at 567-242-0451.