Applause for business achievements


ODOT District 1 receives recognition

The Ohio Department of Transportation District 1 was awarded a Don Conaway Partnering award for projects completed last year. The Don Conaway Partnering Award recognizes how ODOT and a contractor demonstrated partnership and how the partnership was used successfully in construction projects.

The district was recognized for the Interstate 75 and U.S. 224 interchange reconstruction.

Markiewicz receives praise

Lou Markiewicz from The Lima Exchange Club received the Ohio/West Virginia District Exchangite of the Year award. He received the award for his tireless volunteerism for The Lima Exchange Club and for many other volunteer activities in the community.

Mosher up for Health Care Worker of the Year

Tim Mosher, nurse practitioner at St. Rita’s Urgent Care, has been nominated for 2015 Health Care Worker of the Year.

Mosher trained as a registered nurse and retired as fire chief with Shawnee Township Fire Department before joining St. Rita’s Medical Center’s emergency department, and then serving as nurse practitioner at St. Rita’s Urgent Care.

He has traveled to Haiti, Jamaica, Lebanon, Honduras and Peru, providing medical support to those in need. Recently, Mosher traveled to West Africa to join the fight against Ebola. He was at the epicenter of this crisis as he cared for Dr. Kent Brantly and Nancy Writebol, even helping to administer the experimental ZMapp.

Mosher is one of 56 outstanding healthcare professionals nominated for the 2015 Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year Award. This award is presented each year to one Ohio caregiver who personifies a leader, reflects the mission and values of their organization, gives back to the community and routinely goes beyond the call of duty.


ONU hires Shannon Spencer

Shannon Spencer has been hired by Ohio Northern University as vice president for university advancement.

She is currently assistant vice president for development at Bowling Green state University. She replaces Kenneth Block, who will retire from this position.

Spencer has experience and success in many areas of advancement, including annual giving, stewardship, fundraising and campaign development that prepared her for leading an advancement team. In addition to her experience at Bowling Green State University, she served as the coordinator of the undergraduate program office for the department of electrical engineering and computer science in the college of engineering at the University of Michigan.

She holds a master of arts in higher education administration and a bachelor of arts in English from Bowling Green State University.

Spencer is a native of New Knoxville, is married to Shawn Spencer and is mother of a daughter and son.


Two counselors present at conference

Susan J. Burchfield and Jules Krizan will present a workshop at the annual conference of the Association of Family & Conciliation Courts in New Orleans. This is an interdisciplinary, international association of professionals dedicated to improving the lives of children and families through resolution of family conflict.

Burchfield and Krizan have presented Assisting Our Kids in 11 different counties in Northwest Ohio. They have a private practice counseling office located at 1054 S. Washington St., Van Wert. They are also certified mediators through the Supreme Court of Ohio.


Sanchez reappointed to board

Tracie Sanchez has been reappointment to the Ohio Bureau of Workers’ Compensation Board of Directors. Sanchez is the owner of Lima Pallet Company.

Sanchez will represent employers with 100 or fewer employees. She has been a member of the National Federation of Independent Business for more than 20 years.


Mad River Mountain manager promoted

Greg Fisher, general manager of Mad River Mountain in Zanesfield has been promoted to the Northeast Director of Marketing for Peak Resorts. In this new role, Fisher will direct marketing and events for Mount Snow, Vermont; Attitash, Wildcat and Crotched, New Hampshire; and Jack Frost and Big Boulder, Pennsylvania.


Ag Credit elections committee

John Dulin, of Hardin County; Roy Klopfenstein, of Paulding County; David Moser, of Putnam County; and Dan Bauer, of Van Wert County have been elected to serve on Ag Credit’s 2016 nominating committee.


Fischbach receives degree

Abby D. Fischbach received her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine Degree on May 9 from The Ohio State University.

Fischbach is a 2006 graduate of Ottoville High School. She is the daughter of Dave Fischbach, of Ottoville, and Deborah Stetler, of Cloverdale.

She will reside in Worthington and is employed by Annehurst Veterinary Hospital in Westerville.

Grand Lake Christian School recognizes staff

The Grand Lake Christian School Board of Education recognized teachers and staff members with 12 or more years of service .

Teachers and staff recognized Ann Wott, Sheila Craft, Bill Brosher, Julie Echols and Diane Hammond.

Van Wert Manor honors staff

Van Wert Manor honored members of its Platinum Club, who have been with Van Wert Manor for 20 years or longer. Platinum Club members include Donna Miller with 42 years of service, Mary Barnes with 41 years of service, Debra Benner with 39 years of service, Mel Long with 37 years of service, Linda Fox with 31 years of service, Linda Dunaway with 30 years of service, Christi Strunkenburg with 29 years of service, Cindy Showalter with 28 years of service, Donna Ball with 28 yeas of service, Michele Daeger with 25 years of service, Lisa Kline with 23 years of service, Doris Finger with 22 years of service, Tina Hulbert and Molly Bowersock, both with 20 years of service each.

More Stories

Post navigation