Ohio Cattlemen’s Association present awards

MARYSVILLE — The 2017-2018 Ohio Cattlemen’s Association Beef Exhibitor Show Total program concluded May 5 with the award banquet.

Kim Herman, of Allen County served on the BEST committee. Serving on the junior committee was Brooke Egbert, of Auglaize County.

Novice scholarships were awarded. To be eligible, youth ages 8 to 21 years old had to qualify for the Novice division by being first- or second-year BEST program participants. Eligible participants submitted an essay that was reviewed by a panel of judges and ranked. The selected participants received a scholarship worth $120 to cover the cost of their family’s Ohio Cattlemen’s Association membershp for $75 as well as one head BEST nomination fee valued at $45.

Maggie Hoorman, Megan Schulte, Reed Schumacher and Robyn Schumacher, all of Putnam County, won novice scholarships.

In the Heifer and Market Animal Champions Maine-Anjou breed, Lauren Schulte, of Putnam County, took fourth overall.

Caitlin Schaub, of Auglaize County, took Champion Percent Simmental Heifer, and Owen Fennig, of Mercer County, took Reserve Grand Champoin percent Simmental Heifer.

Brooke Egbert, of Auglaize County took Reserve Champion High Percent AOB Heifer and third overall Crossbred Steer.

Madisen Jolliff, of Hardin County, tied for sixth overall novice heifer in the crossbred classification.

Mekenzie Jolliff, of Hardin County, took fourth overall novice showman.

Post navigation