Ohioans told to avoid 6 states

By Randy Ludlow - The Columbus Dispatch

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Ohio Department of Health warned residents against traveling to six states with high rates of coronavirus positivity. These include Idaho, Nevada, Texas, Alabama, Mississippi and Florida.

Anyone coming to Ohio from those states are asked to self-quarantine for 14 days. Each of those states had rates of 15% positivity or more, with Texas sitting at 24.2%. For reference, Ohio’s positivity rate is 5%.

That news came as a new COVID-19 prison outbreak is claiming inmates at the Madison Correctional Institution west of Columbus.

A total of 137 inmates in the Madison County prison tested positive for coronavirus as of Wednesday, with results awaited on another 107 inmates, prison officials reported.

The outbreak is currently the largest in the state prison system, followed by 83 cases among inmates at the Chillicothe Correctional Institution.

Thirty-four staff members at Madison Correctional have contracted COVID-19, with 24 now recovered. No prisoners are reported to have yet recovered amid the new outbreak.

No deaths have been reported among staff and inmates at Madison.

Three inmate deaths have occurred at the neighboring London Correctional Institution, where 14 staff members and 58 inmates have contracted the virus, with seven inmates currently ill.

By Randy Ludlow

The Columbus Dispatch

Post navigation