The Lima News recognized with 20 awards

By Staff Reports -





From left, Klemann, Orosz and Wilson

COLUMBUS — The Lima News won 20 awards from the Ohio Associated Press Media Editors newspaper competition this week, finishing third in general excellence in Division IV.

The newspaper, competing with other newspapers with paid print circulation between 19,000 and 59,999, had four first-place wins, five second-place finishes and 10 third-place mentions.

The staff won first place in explanatory reporting for its One Giant Leap series, about the 50th anniversary of Neil Armstrong becoming the first man to walk on the moon and its impact on the region.

Mackenzi Klemann won best business reporter, with judges commending her timely subjects and engaging writing.

Craig J. Orosz, the photo editor for The Lima News, won first place for best graphics artist for his photo illustrations. “The graphics have a nice style and compliment the story well,” a judge wrote.

Amanda Wilson, a photographer for The Lima News, won for best news photo for her work from aftermath of a tornado hitting Celina.

The newspaper also had five second-place finishes.

Jim Krumel, editor of The Lima News, took second for best editorial writer. Krumel shared an award with Gary Presley, the pagination director for AIM Media Midwest, for best illustration or informational graphic for a graphic about the Joint Systems Manufacturing Center. The newsroom staff shared a second-place award for its coverage of President Donald Trump’s visit to the JSMC.

Jennifer Peryam won second-place for best public service for a story about mentors to youth. Josh Ellerbrock and Klemann shared a second-place honor for investigative journalism for their series, “Their Turn,” about why young people say they want to leave Lima.

Third-place winners included Ellerbrock (best news writer and best digital project for the Boom XYZ podcast), Krumel (best columnist), Adrienne McGee Sterrett and David Trinko (best video for a video on former Lima Symphony Orchestra conductor Crafton Beck), Jim Naveau (best sports columnist, best sports writer) and Trinko (best headline writer). The sports staff won third place for best daily sports section, and the staff won third for best digital presence for and its social media.

The event, originally scheduled for May, was canceled amid concerns about coronavirus.

Danae King, a reporter at The Columbus Dispatch and a former reporter at The Lima News, was named Ohio APME’s Newspaper Rising Star. That award recognizes journalists with five years or less in journalism.

Three journalists were inducted into the Ohio APME Hall of Fame: Jim Siegel, of The Columbus Dispatch; Gary Kiefer, of The Columbus Dispatch; and Tom Archdeacon, of the Dayton Daily News.
From left, Klemann, Orosz and Wilson left, Klemann, Orosz and Wilson

By Staff Reports

Post navigation