Lima News wins two first-place awards

By Staff Reports -

Ellerbrock Orosz

Ellerbrock Orosz

COLUMBUS — A reporter and a photographer for The Lima News won first-place honors Saturday in the annual Ohio Associated Press Media Editors newspaper competition, announced Saturday at a luncheon.

The Lima News won seven awards overall in Division IV, for newspapers with circulation between 19,000 and 59,999. Entries were judged by editors from Digital First Media in Troy, Michigan.

Longtime photo editor Craig J. Orosz won two of the three top spots in the photo story category. He picked up first place for best photo story for “Memorable pitch for Tigers fan,” chronicling 84-year-old Bob Stolly’s ceremonial first pitch at a Detroit Tigers game. He also won third place in photo story for “Restoring hope, rebuilding lives,” a look inside the Lima Rescue Mission.

“It’s another one in a long line of first-place finishes for Craig,” said Jim Krumel, editor of The Lima News.

Josh Ellerbrock finished first for investigative reporting for his story “NAACP claims not so black and white,” a deep dive into NAACP racial accusations involving Lima’s streets department. Ellerbrock also finished second in the best news writer category, for a four-story portfolio highlighting his best work in 2018.

“Josh’s curiosity serves him well,” Krumel said.

Second-place finishers included:

• News reporting staff, best explanatory reporting for “Driving Change,” an in-depth look at autonomous automobiles and their impact.

• Jim Naveau, best sports columnist, for columns about Nick Bosa, Earl Bruce, Baker Mayfield and Urban Meyer.

Third-place finishers included:

• Don Speck, best sports photo for “Ouch,” a photograph of Delphos St. John’s Dominic Metzger getting hit by a pitch in May 7, 2018’s playoff game.

Also Saturday, two journalists were inducted into the Ohio APME Hall of Fame for exceptional distinction and honor in the field of journalism: Tom McKee of WCPO-TV in Cincinnati and John Erickson of the Dayton Daily News.

Jennifer Smola, a reporter at The Columbus Dispatch, was named Ohio APME’s Newspaper Rising Star. That award recognizes journalists with five years or less in journalism.
Ellerbrock Orosz Orosz

By Staff Reports

Post navigation