Allen Co. schools gave $6.9M to now-shuttered ECOT

By Josh Ellerbrock -

LIMA — Over the last six years, Allen County residents gave almost $7 million to the Electronic Classroom of Tomorrow, the digital charter school currently facing litigation from the state for inflating attendance to receive higher allocations.

According to numbers released by Innovation Ohio, a progressive think tank, ECOT was allocated $590 million from school districts over the last six years. A portion of that number, $80 million, is currently being contested in state court.

Earlier this week, Innovation Ohio released a list of what each school district gave to the charter school since the 2012 school year. The amount each school the three-county region gave to ECOT are broken down below.

Allen County — $6,943,279

•Lima: $3,665,997

•Elida: $1,008,302

•Shawnee: $1,000,302

•Bath: $377,942

•Perry: $219,237

•Allen East: $205,093

•Delphos Jefferson: $197,037

•Spencerville: $158,230

•Bluffton: $111,139

Putnam County — $862,355

•Ottawa-Glandorf: $260,574

•Kalida: $201,229

•Continental: $167,968

•Leipsic: $109,433

•Columbus Grove: $48,068

•Jennings: $43,201

•Pandora-Gilboa: $20,592

•Ottoville: $11,290

•Miller City-New Cleveland: $0

Auglaize County — $773,618

•St. Marys: $298,998

•Wapakoneta: $296,603

•Minster: $100,605

•Waynesfield-Goshen: $47,275

•New Knoxville: $16,951

•New Bremen: $13,186

Ohio charter schools are allocated state tax dollars by deducting state aid from the local public school district where a student resides.

ECOT was shut down among controversy last January when state officials required that the charter school pay back the $80 million it had been overpaid.

By Josh Ellerbrock

Reach Josh Ellerbrock at 567-242-0398.

Reach Josh Ellerbrock at 567-242-0398.

Post navigation