2018 Jefferson Award winners announced

By Josh Ellerbrock - jellerbrock@limanews.com


LIMA — The eight recipients of the 2018 Jefferson Awards for Public Service have been determined by the United Way of Greater Lima. They include Terri Beasley, Rachael and Cameron Staley, Bev Beery, Bill Roeder and Jack Rex, Lynda Best, Neil Kehler, Dave Roznowski and Deborah Zwez.

One of the eight recipients will be chosen March 27 to attend the national Jefferson Awards banquet to be held in Washington, D.C.

• Terri Beasley of Lima: Beasley’s name may be familiar to Cridersville’s residents as the owner of Beasleys Thrift Shop on Main Street. Just some of Beasley’s accomplishments mentioned in her nomination papers include sponsoring families during the holidays, acting as karaoke disc jockey during fundraising events, donating clothing or fabric to those in need and offering transportation for Medicare and Medicaid clients.

• Bev Beery of Lima: Beery has spent many volunteer hours working with Family Promise through her involvement with the Trinity United Methodist Church. Beery also participates in Lima’s Kiwanis chapter, volunteers at Heartbeat of Lima and serves with Senior Citizens Services. At one time, Beery raised $46,000 to help Family Promise, which shelters homeless families while they work through the barriers of self sufficiency.

• Lynda Best of Bluffton: Best is a major player in the annual Bluffton Relay for Life, where she raises funds, partakes in the parade and was involved in the fight against merging Bluffton’s relay event with Lima’s. Outside of Relay, Best serves at Family Promise through area churches and uses her skills as a hairstylist to do the hair of individuals in nursing homes or those who may not be able to leave their homes.

• Earl Lhamon of Lima: Lhamon helps with Lima’s Schoonover Observatory and other organizations over the past 70 years.

• Dave Roznowski of Lima: Nominated by last year’s Jefferson Award recipient Bobbie Nevarez, Roznowski is the pastor/ founder/leader at Neighborhood Relief Ministries. Some of his volunteer endeavors include providing regular food giveaways, donating cold-weather clothing to residents at Restoration House and Coleman Professional Services, hosting Christmas tree giveaways and working with the West Ohio Food Bank, the Restoration House of Lima, Heartbeat of Lima and the Bradfield Center.

• Bill Roeder and Jack Rex of Lima: The two retirees of Ford’s Lima Engine Plant have been involved with the Ford/United Automobile Workers (UAW) Local 1219 Ramp Crew for more than two decades. According to their nomination papers, the two have participated in the installation and construction of 54 ramps and 23 sets of steps, as well as a few ramp repurposings, in the last year alone.

• Rachael and Cameron Staley of Columbus Grove: The Staleys began their community service in 2003 when they formed the Allen County Special Abilities Baseball League. In the last two years, the Staleys also spearheaded the construction of a specialized rubberized field at UNOH for Allen County Specialized Baseball League players after helping raise a few hundred thousand dollars. In 2015, the Staleys helped organized the Night to Shine, a prom for special needs students.

• Deborah Zwez of Wapakoneta: Zwez has participated in a number of service-oriented organizations for over a decade. Some of them include the Wapakoneta Rotary, the Wapakoneta YMCA, the Wapakoneta Area Economic Development Council, the Wapakoneta Community Thanksgiving Dinner Committee and the United Way of Auglaize County. Zwez also plays an active role in Wapakoneta’s competitive swimming community.

The Jefferson Awards for Public Service is sponsored by The Lima News, Your Hometown Lima Stations, the United Way of Greater Lima and Husky Energy.

By Josh Ellerbrock



Reach Josh Ellerbrock at 567-242-0398.

Reach Josh Ellerbrock at 567-242-0398.

Post navigation