Education Roundup

First Posted: 1/21/2015

Goshen College announces dean’s list

The following students from the area were included in the Goshen College’s dean’s list for the 2014 fall semester: Julian Harnish, of Bluffton; Jill Steinmetz, of Bluffton; and Jackson Bush, of Bluffton.

Local college student on president’s list

Courtney Hunter, of Wapakoneta, was listed on Youngstown State University’s President’s List for the 2014 fall semester.

Heildelberg University announces fall dean’s list

The following students from the area were included on the Heildelberg University fall dean’s list: Jessica Dotson, of Ottawa; Renee Eley-Lovett, of Wapakoneta; Emily England, of Forest; Alyssa Gable, of Delphos; Clarissa Gamble, of Van Wert; Katelyn Gamble, of Van Wert; Jayna Geuy, of Wapakoneta; Aaron Hellman, of Delphos; Ashlee King, of Lima; Jarrod Wehinger, of Lima; and Taylor Windau, of Columbus Grove.

Findlay awards financial aid

The following students received scholarships from the University of Findlay:

Taylor Allen, of Forest, received the Emerson and Laura Pelton Scholarship. Cody Alt, of Ottawa, received the Emerson and Laura Pelton Scholarship. Jenise Berning, of Minster, received the Majors James A. and Joan E. Sayer Service Scholarship Endowment Fund. April Blue, of Forest, received the Ritz Memorial Scholarship.

Tyler Carroll, of Bluffton, received the Dr. Herbert O. ‘27 & Helen (Alexander ‘28) Now Scholarship, Kenneth B. Cummins Mathematics Scholarship and Kenneth B. Cummins Mathematics Scholarship. Charity Clum, of Ada, received the Emerson and Laura Pelton Scholarship. Whitni Dunlap, of Van Wert, received the Mabel Bauer Scholarship. Diana Good, of Wapakoneta, received the Town & Campus Operating Scholarship.

Marissa Guillen, of Lima, received the Van Swerigan Memorial Fund. Levin Hovest, of Ottawa, received the Marie G. Sweitzer Scholarship. Nicole Hulihan, of Bluffton, received the Business Affiliates Scholarship.

Janey Janka, of Van Wert, received the Emerson and Laura Pelton Scholarship and Ritz Memorial Scholarship. Micah Johns, of St. Marys, received the Ritz Memorial Scholarship. John Kidd, of Lima, received the Harry M. Kirk Memorial Scholarship, John W. ‘14 and Hester (Powell ‘19) Grimm Business Scholarship and Owens-Illinois Plastic Products Division Scholarship.

Kathryn Kohls, of Columbus Grove, received the Richard E. and Barbara A. Wilkin Scholarship and Tim Trask Scholarship. Katlyn Laudick, of Ottawa, received the Class of 1962 Scholarship and Ralph Whisler Scholarship. Brandy Lawrence, of Kenton received the Dana R. Jackson, R.Ph., C.Ph., Scholarship.

Jenna Moots, of Lima, received the John W. ‘14 and Hester (Powell ‘19) Grimm Business Scholarship. Hailey Perkins, of Lima, received the Dr. Frank R. and Mary Jane Cosiano Scholarship. Elijah Rayl, of Ada, received the Austin E. Knowlton Memorial Scholarship. Catherine Schnipke, of Fort Jennings, received the Howard and Carolyn Marvin Scholarship and Mary Alice (Foster ‘35) McDaniel Scholarship.

Amanda Schuller, of Ottawa, received the Barbara Rieck Heminger Scholarship and Jesse Snavely Jr. Memorial Scholarship. Alexis Shaw-Roberts, of Lima, received the Emerson and Laura Pelton Scholarship and Ritz Memorial Scholarship. Shelby Stump, of Dola, received the Dr. Edwin S. Stefan Scholarship.

Brooke Unterbrink, of Ottawa, received the John R. and Marion Van Nice Choral Music Scholarship. Patrick Walker, of Columbus Grove, received the Emerson and Laura Pelton Scholarship, Ritz Memorial Scholarship and Theta Chi Century Club Operating Scholarship.

Garrett Westerbeck, of New Bremen, received the Hazel and Bert Miller Business Scholarship. Mara White, of Kenton, received the Van Swerigan Memorial Fund. Amber Zickafoose, of Kenton, received the Grace Leonard Farrell ‘36 and Christina Taylor Florence ‘94 Scholarship.

University presents symposium

The Pettit College of Law at Ohio Northern University will present the 2015 Cahart Symposium at 11 a.m. Feb. 10 in the Celebrezee Large Moot Court Room.

It will feature “Risk Taking and Governance: The Duty to the Public,” presented by Steven L. Schwarcz, a professor of law and business at Duke University, and “The Dangers of Modern Banking,” presented by Eyvindur Gunnarson, professor and dean of law at the University of Iceland.

The event is open to the public.

Ohio Northern welcomes guest

During a visit Feb. 9 to 13, Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow Janisee Ray will be on the Ohio Northern Univeristy campus.

The writer and activist will host classes, seminars, workshops and lectures throughout the week. She will host multiple events and readings, as well. Information is available at

Student makes dean’s list

Emily Lentz, of Findlay, was listed on Marquette University’s fall dean’s list.

UF gets jazzy

The University of Findlay will host a pops concert at 3 p.m. Feb. 8 at Winebrenner Theological Seminary’s TLB Auditorium.

Admission to the concert is free but tickets are required. They may be picked up at the door or reserved in advance by contacting the University’s Box Office at 419-434-5335.

University offers aid assistance

Ohio State-Lima will offer assistance for families to fill out college financial aid applications from 2 to 4 p.m. Feb. 8.

Representatives will be available at Lima Senior High School and Columbus Grove High School locations. Ohio State’s priority deadline to file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid is Feb. 15.

Author visits Bluffton campus

Jame Loewen, author of the book “Lies My Teacher Told Me: Everything Your American History Textbook Got Wrong,” will be at Bluffton University on Tuesday. The lecture, open to the public, will begin at 11 a.m. in Founders Hall.

Locals land on dean’s list

The following students were listed on Ohio Wesleyan’s fall dean’s list: Nicole Barhorst, of Minster, Amanda Clay, of Van Wert, Haley Schafer, of Harrod, Mackenzie Schroeder, of Columbus Grove, and Lindsi Woods, of Harrod.

Eastern Mennonite University announces dean’s list

The following students were listed on Eastern Mennonite University’s fall dean’s list: Hannah Chappell-Dick, David Hooley, Jonatan Moser, David Nester, Jonathan Nisly and Justin Paul, all of Bluffton, and Jacob Shank, of West Liberty.

Students make the grade

Elizabeth Davis, of Van Wert, was listed on the University of Cumberland’s dean’s list in the fall. She also graduated.

Post navigation