3 MAC teams play for state title

First Posted: 11/30/2014

Three teams from the Midwest Athletic Conference will play this weekend for a high school football state championship.

All seven division state title games will be at Ohio State’s Ohio Stadium.

In Division VI, Kirtland (14-0) will meet Minster (11-3) at 3 p.m. Friday.

In Division VII, three-time defending state champion Marion Local (14-0) will meet Norwalk St. Paul (13-1) at 10 a.m. Saturday.

In Division V, Coldwater (13-1) will meet Canton Central Catholic (14-0) at 8 p.m. on Saturday.

Minster will be making its second state title appearance. It won the state championship in 1989.

Coldwater has won four state titles, including in 2012 and 2013.

Marion Local has won seven state titles, including the last three. The Flyers have won 36 games in a row.

Alabama is No. 1 in football poll

Alabama is No. 1 in The Associated Press college football poll for the first time this season, replacing undefeated Florida State in a vote that was about as close as it could get.

The Crimson Tide (11-1) received 25 of a possible 59 first-place votes from the media panel and 1,426 points. The Seminoles (12-0) have 29 first-place votes and 1,423 points.

The last time the No. 2 team had more first-place votes than the No. 1 team this late in the season was Nov. 25, 1968, when No. 1 Ohio State had 21 1/2 first-places votes to Southern California’s 24 1/2.

Alabama is No. 1 for the 72nd time overall and first since it lost last year’s Iron Bowl. The Tide beat Auburn 55-44 on Saturday.

It is also the seventh straight season the Crimson Tide has been No. 1 at some point, the longest such streak since Miami from 1986-92.

Florida State is the first team to lose the No. 1 ranking twice in a season since Penn State in 1997.

The last time a No. 1 team had a loss and No. 2 was undefeated this late in the season was Nov. 27, 1993, when Florida State (11-1) held the top spot and Nebraska (11-0) was No. 2.

Those Seminoles, who lost to Notre Dame a few weeks prior, went on to beat Nebraska in the Orange Bowl and win the national title.

No. 3 Oregon received five first-place votes in the latest poll. TCU jumped two spot to No. 4. Baylor slipped one to No. 5 and Ohio State moved up one to No. 6. No. 7 is Michigan State, followed by Arizona and Kansas State. Mississippi State fell six places to No. 10 after losing to Mississippi.

20th Century to host first round of City Singles

The Lima City Singles first round of qualifying will take place Dec. 13 at 20th Century Lanes.

The tournament has been a staple in Lima for about 60 years, moving to 20th Century Lanes under the guardianship of Tobe Cardone in the early 60’s.

The tournament is open to all bowlers from Lima, Wapakoneta, Delphos, Spencerville, Kenton and Bluffton, as well as all former champions, regardless of where they may now reside.

For information, call 20th Century Lanes at 419-222-1876.

Weston Hawk claimed his second significant tournament title this season on Friday when he claimed first place in the Black Friday Sweeper at 20th Century Lanes. Hawk claimed the B Division title of the Lima Bowling Association tournament last month.

Author Jane Leavy seeks

Ruth memories in Lima

Noted baseball author Jane Leavy, who has written books on Mickey Mantle and Sandy Koufax, is looking for people who have memories of Bath Ruth’s barnstorming trip in Lima in October of 1927.

Leavy is looking for any person who has a story about Babe Ruth’s trip in 1927 or has any knowledge about the game or who played in the game from relatives or friends. Please email Jane Leavy at jane.leavy.me.com

Lou Gehrig was presented with a trophy by the Lima fans at the game. Gehrig sent the trophy home to his mother. Any knowledge of that may contact Leavy, as well.

The information will be used in Leavys’ latest book, “The Big Fella.”

Post navigation