LCC’s Desprat, Shawnee doubles team among state tennis qualifiers

First Posted: 5/21/2014

PERRYSBURG — Lima Central Catholic singles player Pierre Desprat and the Shawnee doubles team of

Jason Barton and Tim Rutter were among the area contingent to qualify for state by advancing to the semifinals of the Division II district Wednesday.

Joining them will be singles players Alex Schroeder of Ottawa-Glandorf and Alex Seibel of Celina. The Celina doubles team of Isaac Elston and Kris LeJeune also made it to the semifinals.

Among those unable to advance were the LCC doubles team of Zach Schroeder and Dylan Niese who lost only their second match of the season.

District play is scheduled to resume Saturday at Bowling Green State University. The event will be moved to Perrysburg should it rain.

LCC will play a sweet 16 match in the Ohio Tennis Coaches’ Association team tournament at 4 p.m. today at Lexington.


COLDWATER — Minster defeated Fort Recovery 5-3 in 10 innings and Crestview topped Marion Local 8-1 in Division IV semifinals Wednesday. The championship game will be played at 7 p.m. Friday.

Track & field

Division I

TIFFIN — Pole vault winner Sam Phares of Celina and was joined by Wapakoneta’s Sam Hinegardner (pole vault) and Celina’s Jack Hinders (long jump), who finished third in their respective events, to qualify for regionals at districts. Wapakoneta’s Hilary Bourne (third place) and Megan Watt (fourth place) also advanced to regionals in the girls discus.

Division II

DEFIANCE — The Ottawa-Glandorf 4 by 800 relay team of Brad Recker, Sid Moening, Trevor Ellerbrock and Matias Trampe-Kindt advanced to regionals by finishing first at the district. Van Wert finished second and Coldwater third in the same event to also advance. Kenton’s Dylan Abrams (second) and Ottawa-Glandorf’s Ben Recker (third) also moved on to regionals.

The Ottawa-Glandorf (second) and Coldwater (third) 4 by 800 relay team advanced as did St. Marys’ Erin Kinkley (third) and Coldwater’s Kelsey Rammel (fourth) in the high jump.

State shuffleboard

The state shuffleboard championships will be held beginning at 7:45 tonight at the Lima YMCA.

The final four teams are from Bath, Elida, Shawnee and Ottawa-Glandorf with men’s and women’s teams competing.

Post navigation