Simpson state co-player of year

First Posted: 3/23/2015

It was a turnaround season for Lima Senior boys basketball, as the Spartans advanced all the way to the regional championship game.

The Spartans’ main spark, point guard Xavier Simpson, was rewarded for his efforts by being named the Division I state co-player of the year. Simpson was also named first team all-state.

Simpson was named the state’s co-player of the year with Shaker Heights’ Esa Ahmad.

Simpson, a 6-foot junior, averaged 19.8 points per game. Ahman, a 6-8 senior, averaged 25.3 points.

The Division I and Division II boys basketball all-state teams were announced on Monday.

The Division I state coaches of the year were Dublin Jerome’s Jamie Pearson and Lorain’s John Rositano.

In Division II, Celina’s Ryan Hoyng and Defiance’s Katwan Singleton were both named to the second team.

Hoyng, a 6-3 senior, averaged 18.6 points. The 6-5 senior Singleton, who has helped Defiance reach the state tournament, averaged 13.8 points.

Elida’s Austin Allemeier received honorable mention all-state in Division II.

The state’s Division II player of the year was Franklin’s Luke Kennard, last year’s Mr. Basketball. Kennard, who is headed to Duke, averaged 39 points.

The Division II state coaches of the year were Whitehall-Yearling’s Andrew Williams, New Concord John Glenn’s Greg Woodward, Sandusky’s Colin Irish, Franklin’s Brian Bates and Chillicothe Unioto’s Matt Hoops.

Post navigation