Dunham, Long, Sherman win at Limaland

LIMA — Limaland Motorsports Park kicked off the Independence Day weekend with the annual running of Firecracker Friday.

Leipsic’s Chase Dunham drove his family owned No. 66 to the win in Ohio Logistics NRA 360 Sprint Invader competition, while No. 65 Todd Sherman added another Northwest Physical Therapy DIRTcar UMP Modified feature win to his resume, and No. 26 Justin Long bagged the Lock Sixteen Thunderstock victory.

The Lock Sixteen Thunderstocks kicked off the feature events with a 15 lap A Main. Long and No. 82 Chris Douglas led the field to the green flag, with Long grabbing the early lead. Douglas kept close in second while battling with No. 17J Jarrod Klay, and No. 4m Gabe Mueller. Mueller used the bottom of the track to make his way to second on lap 5 and began his challenge for the lead. Despite his best efforts, Mueller had to settle for second to Long, No. 60 Tony Anderson charged to third, with Klay fourth and No. 25 Nick Bowers completing the top 5.

Next up were the Ohio Logistics NRA 360 Sprint Invaders in a 25 lap A Main. No. 17 Jared Horstman and No. 66 Chase Dunham made up the front row for the feature event, and it appeared that Jared Horstman was going to charge to the early lead. However, Horstman hooked the ledge of the cushion in turn 1 and went upside down, bringing out the red flag and setting up a complete restart. Horstman walked away from the crash unharmed. On the restart, No. 2S Kyle Sauder inherited the pole position and made the most of the opportunity, jumping out to the early lead. Dunham stayed in striking distance and made his move as the leaders were making their way through lapped traffic on lap 12. Jake Hesson cracked the top 5 after starting 18th, but his charge to the front ended on the final lap as he rolled his Sam Jackson Auto Body sponsored No. 7T on the back straightaway, bringing out the red flag and setting up a one lap dash to the finish. Dunham held off Sauder for the win, No. 16C Tylar Rankin finished third, No. 23 Devon Dobie fourth and No. 22M Dan McCarron completed the top 5.

The Northwest Physical Therapy DIRTcar UMP Modifieds completed the night’s racing action with No. 4L Mike Learman and No. 65 Todd Sherman making up the front row. Sherman grabbed the lead and survived multiple cautions and restarts to win the 20 lap A Main against No. 95J Jerry Bowersock. No. 36 Brandon Vaughan finished third, with No. 4 Jason Kinney fourth and No. 9PG Percy Gendreau completing the top 5.

Limaland Motorsports Park will be closed July 8, but will return to action Friday July 15, for the inaugural Tribute to Gene Frankhart, the longtime competition director and racetrack guru. In action will be the Ohio Logistics NRA 360 Sprint Invaders, Northwest Physical Therapy DIRTcar UMP Modifieds and the Lock Sixteen Thunderstocks. Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing is scheduled at 7:30 p.m. General admission for ages 16 and older is $12, $6 for those 11 to 15, and kids 10 and younger will be admitted for free. Pit passes for all ages are $30. Head to limaland.com for more information.