Last updated: August 23. 2013 11:28AM - 229 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

BOWLING GREEN — Sandusky Perkins dominated the Division II district swim meet Friday at the Samuel M. Cooper pool at the Student Recreation Center on the campus of Bowling Green State University.

The Pirate girls bullied their way past the runner-up Shawnee Indians 322-204. On the boys’ side, Perkins outdistanced Colonel Crawford 22-176. The closest area team on the boys’ side was Ada, which finished tied for fifth. The top two swimmers in each event automatically qualified for next weekend’s state tournament in Canton. The remaining places will be filled based on the best times from the statewide districts.

The Celina girls finished seventh followed by Western Buckeye League rival Wapakoneta at eighth. Ottawa-Glandorf finished 12, Minster 14, St. Marys and Lima Central Catholic tied for 17 followed by Bath and Kenton, which rounded out the top 20. St. Henry finished 29.

Shawnee’s Emily Murphy was an automatic qualifier in three events. The junior was district champion in the 50-yard freestyle and runner up in the 100 freestyle. Murphy will join Adrienne Pohl, Aerika Wieser and Katie Chung in the 200 freestyle relay team. The foursome set a district record Friday with a 1:38.95 time.

“That’s our gem of the girls,” Shawnee coach Jeff Brown said of the relay team. “That’s everything we had. We wanted to win that. That’s all speed and a district record. They all had excellent times. We came through today.”

Kenton freshman Mo Gray was her school’s lone automatic qualifier in the 100 breaststroke.

Local teams behind Ada’s fifth place in the boys meet included Shawnee at 10th while Celina, St. Marys and Bath grabbed 12 through 14, respectively. Defiance, Van Wert and Wapakoneta finished 17, 18, and 19, respectively. Ottawa-Glandorf finished 30th and Fort Recovery finished 32.

“It (individual state qualifiers) will be tough in the boys,” Brown said. “We’ll have to wait some out. It’ll be a struggle.”

Ada’s Matthew Wilcox grabbed the district championship in the 50 freestyle and was a member of the 200 freestyle relay that finished runner-up. Joining the junior on the relay was Karl Karcher, Mitchell Wilcox and Jon Robey.

Defiance senior Ben Rath won the 500 freestyle and was runner-up in the 200 freestyle.

WBL rivals Van Wert and St. Marys swept the automatic qualifying spots in the 100 backstroke. Van Wert junior Eric Easley set a meet record with a time of 53.58 and was the Cougars’ lone district champion while Roughrider Jared Deubler finished second (54.63).

Shawnee's Emily Vondran
All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com