Last updated: August 25. 2013 4:32AM - 203 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

ADA – Ohio Northern’s D’Artis Jones, a former National Player of the Year, and ONU women’s athletics pioneer Helen Ludwig will be inducted into the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame as part of its 2014 class.

Seven players in addition to Jones, five coaches and Ludwig will join the Hall of Fame in a May 2014 ceremony.

Others going into the Hall of Fame are: players Dean Chance, Helen Darling, Henry Finkel, Dennis Hopson, Campy Russell, Georgia Schweitzer Beasley and Nick Weatherspoon, and coaches Brian Agler, Vince Chickerella, Walter Harrop, Ed Jucker and Jerry Scheve.

Two teams also will be honored. They are Wright State’s 1983 men’s Division II national champion team and the 2004 Wilmington College women’s Division III national champion team.

Jones was a key player on Ohio Northern’s 1993 Division III national champion team.

He was first-team All-Ohio Athletic Conference twice and scored 1,575 points in his career. He was the national Player of the Year in 1995 and played on teams with a 63-20 overall record during his career.

Jones graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering in 1997.

Ludwig graduated from Ohio Northern in 1944 and was a professor of physical education at ONU from 1963-1984.

Ohio Northern describes her as “critical in the formation of women’s athletic teams.”

She was an assistant athletic director, the academic director of the physical education department and was a head or assistant coach for several ONU teams. She also hired many of the early women’s teams coaches.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com