Bluffton wins NCAA volleyball tourney opener

Area roundup

By Mike Purdy -

WHITEWATER, Wis. — Bluffton University won the volleyball program’s first-ever NCAA Division III tournament match when it defeated 17th-ranked Wisconsin-Whitewater 25-14, 20-25, 25-21, 25-27, 15-11 Thursday night.

The Beavers improved to 24-8, while Oshkosh saw its season come to an end with a 28-8 mark.

Bethany Martini pounded home 16 kills to lead the Beavers, while MacKenzie McFarlin was right behind with 15 winners. Erin Weisgarber dished out 35 assists and had a career-high 23 digs.

Lima Central Catholic grad Sydney Mohler had 22 also for Bluffton.

Bluffton will next play at 5:30 tonight against 16th-ranked Washington (Mo.) at the same venue.

Millikin 3, ONU 2

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. — No. 22-ranked Ohio Northern fell in a thrilling 25-12, 19-25, 25-20, 22-25, 17-15 match to Millikin (Ill.) in the first round of the Calvin Regional in the NCAA Division III Volleyball Tournament at the Van Noord Arena.

The Polar Bears saw their 19-match winning streak come to an end and ended their season 27-4.

“It’s a disappointing finish but the future is bright for our program,” Witte said. “We played all eight freshmen today. Our two seniors, Ashley Borchers and Claire Heitkamp, have been outstanding role models. Their legacy will be that they got our program back on an upward trajectory.”

Haley Potters had 13 kills and Marion Local grad Heitkamp had 10 kills to lead Ohio Northern.

Borchers dished out 39 assists and Megan Nieszala had a career-high 40 digs for the Polar Bears.

All-region honors

BLUFFTON — Bluffton University’s Lauren Weisgarber and ONU’s Aslhley Borchers and Haley Potters have been named to the first team of the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Region Team. ONU’s Kate Witte was named the Great Lakes Region’s coach of the year.

Men’s soccer

ONU has 7

named all-OAC

ADA — The No. 9-ranked Ohio Northern men’s soccer team saw seven members earn All-Ohio Athletic Conference for the 2016 season.

Seniors Matt Kinkopf, David Janusz, Grant Allbritten and Chris Garbig were named first team All-OAC.

JDean McNeil and Grant Cayot earned second team honors and Austin Horton was named honorable mention All-OAC.

Bluffton duo

earn all-HCAC

BLUFFTON — Bluffton University’s Matt Hardman-Zimmerman and Ezekiel Davis have been named honorable mention All-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference for their play in 2016. They were recognized when the HCAC announced its top players this season as voted on by the head coaches.

High schools


NWOSSCA scholarships

The Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association (NWOSSCA) has announced that the winners of the 2016 NWOSSCA Scholarship Awards are Troy Ricker of Fort Jennings and Caroline Schutz of Cory-Rawson. They will each receive a check for $250 to be used towards their college expenses.

The presentations will be made Tuesday at approximately 6:30 p.m. between the 2016 NWOSSCA District Senior All-Star games at Findlay High School.

This is the fifth annual Scholarship Award presented by the Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association.

All-district match

The Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association (NWOSSCA) will hold the 14th annual Senior All-District Games on Tuesday at Findlay High School’s Graham Field.

The women’s game will begin at 5 p.m. followed by the men’s game at 7 p.m.

Lima area players selected to play for the Girls Red Team include Allen East’s Jade Meyer and Leah Casey, Elida’s Hope Carter and Lima Senior’s Tajah Upshaw. Elida’s Brady Overholdt will be one of the team’s coaches. Area players on the White Team include Ottawa-Glandorf’s Cassie and Alexis Schroeder, Bluffton’s Sarah Theisen, Wapakoneta’s Claire Burton, Celina’s Brennen Piper, St. Marys’ Bailey Fenwick-Miller and Lima Central Catholic’s Madison Stolly.

Area players on the Boys Red Team include Bath’s Trey Burnett, Celina’s Jarren Casto, Continental’s Dean Krendl, LCC’s Stephen Taflinger, Bluffton’s Anthony Kingsley and Van Wert’s Brandon Hernandez. Area players on the Boys White Team include Wapakoneta’s Kaden Ware and Shawnee’s Jackson O’Connor.



All-Western Buckeye League honors have been announced.

St. Marys’ Eric Spicer (offensive back of the year), Joey Morlino (offensive lineman of the year) and Matt Patten (defensive lineman of the year) and Wapakoneta’s Tristan Meyer (kicking specialist) and Landon Hall (defensive back of the year) received top honors.

Ottawa-Glandorf’s Ken Schriner, Wapakoneta’s Travis Moyer and St. Marys’ Doug Frye shared coach of the year recognition.

Joining running back Spicer and guard Morlino on the first team offense were center Jonathan Peterson (St. Marys), guards Brady Kuhlman (Ottawa-Glandorf) and Ryan Lowden (Wapakoneta), tackles Alex Hoehn (Ottawa-Glandorf) and Garrett Lauth (St. Marys), quarterback Jay Kaufman (O-G), Hall at running back, tight end Kais Chiles (Wapakoneta), wide receivers Chris Deardorff (Kenton) and Richie Knowlton (O-G) and flex player Cole Harmon (Elida).

Joining Patten, an end, and Hall, a linebacker, on the first team defense were flex player Julius Fisher (St. Marys), defensive backs Trent Basinger (O-G), Dustin Howell (St. Marys) and Maddux Liles (Wapakoneta), defensive end Jake Cockerell (Wapak), interior linemen Dan Tullis (Elida), Reed Aller (St. Marys) and Logan Ricker (Wapakoneta) and linebackers Logan Balbaugh (O-G) and Austin Giesige (St. Marys).

Area roundup

By Mike Purdy

Mike Purdy can be reached at 567-242-0451.

Mike Purdy can be reached at 567-242-0451.


8:32 am
Updated: 8:33 am. |    
3 Lima men jailed after police chase
8:31 am
Updated: 8:33 am. |    
Roach infestation causing concern for neighbors
8:30 am
Updated: 8:33 am. |    
Testimony concludes in rape trial of Elida man