Last updated: November 12. 2013 11:26AM - 436 Views
By - dstambaugh@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The hotly contested race in Swancreek Township saw one longtime township trustee ousted.

In that race, an incumbent and a newcomer were victorious, according to unofficial results. Rick Kazmierczak had 709 votes and incumbent Ronald Holdeman 690. Fellow incumbent Phil Wiland was third with 659, followed by Ronald Moore 444 and Michael VanWagner 435.

Kazmierczak is a current member of the Swancreek Water District Board.

“I am truly humbled by the results of the election.It feels great,” said Kazmierczak. “Now it’s time for us to live up to the expectations that the voters have for us. My first thing that I would like to work on would be to open up the lines of communication between all of the local governmental entities and find ways for all of us to work together for the betterment of our community.”

Both Holdeman and Kazmierczak said they wanted to end the health care benefit that trustees currently receive.

“I do not need nor want this lavish benefit,” Holdeman said, prior to the election. “The trustee health care package is out of control and in need of a total revision and/or elimination. The taxpayers should not have to carry this burden for a part-time position.”

Holdeman declined comment following his win.

Wiland was first elected as a trustee 12 years ago.

In Fulton Township, one incumbent was ousted. Current trustee Joe Gombash won one seat with 414 votes, while Swanton Village Councilman David Pilliod won the other with 369. Incumbent Robert Huskins was third with 291 votes.

Pilliod will now have to relinquish is Swanton Village Council seat at the end of the year.

Council will again have to select a new council member from a list of interested residents. Paul Dzyak and Tamara Haselman have both been appointed to council in recent years. Both also won seats in last week’s election.

In Harding Township, a pair of incumbents were victorious. Milton R. Keener received 124 votes, Doyle Drennan 104 and Laurie Hudson 80.

In Swanton Township, incumbent Jeff Michael and former Swanton Board of Education member Cynthia Irmen were the only candidates for two township trustee positions. Michael garnered 367 votes and Irmen 241.

The trustee race in Spencer Township is a nail-biter. Incumbent Michael B. Hood won one position with 256 votes, according to unofficial results.

At this moment, Bob Klumm holds the second spot with 246. However, Shawn P. Valentine is just one vote behind at 245.

Final tallies should be announced later this month.

Keith R. Miller is fourth with 233 votes.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com