Last updated: August 25. 2013 8:51AM - 247 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

VAN WERT Voters in Van Wert County approved every renewal issue on their ballots Tuesday.

Voters approved fire and EMS levies in Hoaglin Township (1.8 mill renewal), Jackson Township (1 mill renewal), Pleasant Township (1.25 mill replacement), Ridge Township East Fire District (2.2 mill renewal) and York Township (2.1 mill replacement).

Voters also approved a 1 mill replacement levy for current expenses in Willshire Township, along with an electric aggregation issue there.

Voters in Van Wert OKd Sunday sales of wine and mixed beverages at Walmart.

All of the county candidates were unopposed in the general election. Republicans Todd Wolfrum and Stan Owens, the current sheriff in Van Wert County, will take over commissioner seats in January. They replace Clair Dudgeon and Gary Adams, who declined to seek another term.

Tom Riggenbach, a Republican, was unopposed in his run for sheriff and will replace Owens.

Other candidates winning their uncontested races included Cindy Mollenkopf, clerk of courts; Scott Jarvis, coroner; Kyle Wendel, engineer; Charles Kennedy, prosecutor; Kim Hughes, recorder; and Beverly Fuerst, treasurer. Charles Steele earned re-election in one common pleas judge seat, while Kevin H. Taylor will finish out an unexpired term.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com