Last updated: August 25. 2013 1:48AM - 111 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

COLUMBUS — State Rep. Robert Sprague, R-Findlay, announced that federal disaster funding is now available for farmers of the 76th Ohio House District affected by drought, flooding and excessive heat.

In response to Governor John Kasich’s request for federal action in wake of this year’s devastating weather, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack declared 85 out of 88 counties to be disaster areas. This designation qualifies eligible farmers for a range of federal assistance programs, including relief funding for non-insurable losses, low-interest loans for damaged crops and temporary deferral of payments on federal loans.

Farmers in Hancock, Hardin and Auglaize counties who have suffered losses may apply for federal assistance at their local Farm Service Agency (FSA). Farm loan managers in FSA offices located in Findlay, Kenton and Wapakoneta are available to serve eligible farmers who apply for emergency loans within eight months from the date of the disaster designation.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com