Last updated: August 24. 2013 5:46PM - 275 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LIMA — Area Republicans state Rep. Matt Huffman, state Rep. Jim Buchy, state Rep. Lynn Wachtmann and Tony Burkley won their races for their respective Ohio House of Representatives seats Tuesday.

State Rep. Cliff Hite, R-Findlay, also won, as he was unopposed in the 1st District.

Huffman, of Lima, won with 67 percent of the vote over Democratic challenger Robert “Bo” Huenke, of Elida, in the 4th District.

Huffman, currently majority floor leader in the Ohio House, said he was grateful to Allen County voters for such widespread support.

“I have a little nostalgia as this is the last time I can run now for this House seat; I’m term limited out,” Huffman said. “It’s nice to go out with a pretty good showing.”

As Huffman cannot run for another consecutive term in the Ohio House, he said Tuesday night he wasn’t sure what his next move politically might be.

“Those kinds of decisions get made as circumstances dictate,” Huffman said. “My guess is whoever gets elected in 2014 will be from our side of the aisle. I could run again after eight years.”

With Republicans remaining in the majority in the Ohio House, Ohio Senate and in the governor’s office, Huffman said he looks for state officials to work on new policy in the last two years of Gov. John Kasich’s term.

“What happened in the last two years, we were essentially getting a patient on life support somewhat healthy again,” Huffman said of the state’s finances. “Now we can make policy and solve problems the state has had for many years, such as school funding. I know the governor’s office is hard at work on that now. Everybody yawns when I talk about this, but we’re making government more efficient and more friendly to people. Someone calls a government office and someone answers, or someone returns the call.”

In other area Ohio House races, as of press time:

• Buchy, of Greenville, the incumbent, won with 81 percent of the vote over Democratic challenger Ronald Hammons, of Celina, in the 84th District.

• Wachtmann, of Napoloen, the incumbent, won with 68 percent of the vote over Democratic challenger John Vanover, of Montpelier, in the 81st District.

• In the 82nd District, Republican Tony Burkley, of Payne, won with 59 percent of the vote over independent candidate Pete Schlegel, of Defiance.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com