Last updated: August 24. 2013 1:58AM - 362 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:


Archbold Equipment receives award

Archbold Equipment Company, with a location in Ottawa, received the Pinnacle Excellence award in the parts and operations areas of its business.

The Pinnacle Excellence program is a company-wide initiative developed by Case IH and the Case IH Dealer Advisory Board to help dealers deliver a best-in-class experience in today’s constantly changing agriculture landscape. It recognizes dealerships for achievement in the key areas identified as important to success by both dealers and Case IH.

Edward Jones associates receive recognition

Zack McCain, with Edward Jones in Lima, won the firm’s Jim McKenzie Award for his achievement in building client relationships.

McCain was one of 1,099 of the firm’s 12,000 financial advisers to receive the Jim McKenzie award.

Chad Wheeler, with Edward Jones in Wapakoneta, won the firm’s Jack Phelan Award for his achievement in building client relationships.

Allen County Board of DD awarded

The Allen County Board of Developmental Disabilities has been awarded a five-year accreditation by the State of Ohio for the quality services and supports it provides to people with disabilities. This is the top award issued by the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities.

The accreditation review is rigorous and thorough, spanning approximately six months.

Markeiwicz named Exchangite of the Year

Lou Markeiwicz was named Lima Exchange Club’s 2013-2014 Exchangite of the Year. He was presented with a plaque in recognition of the work he does for the club and community.

Markeiwicz joined Lima Exchange Club in 2005. He currently serves on the board of directors.

Sutton-Ramspeck wins poetry prizes

Doug Sutton-Ramspeck, assistant professor of English at The Ohio State University at Lima, won two poetry prizes.

He received the Michael Waters Poetry Prize for his latest book of poems, “Original Bodies.” This book was selected for the award by Michael Waters from 437 entries.

He also received the 2013 Neil Shepard Prize in Poetry for his poem, “Sacred Music.” The prize carries a cash award and publication in “Green Mountains Review.” The selection was made by poet Mark Halliday.

All of Sutton-Ramspeck’s book are available on Amazon and in the OSU-Lima campus bookstore.


Kindle named director of clinical services

Jeremy Kindle has been named director of clinical services at Baton Rouge Health Services.

Kindle will manage all aspects of nursing services on the medical campus, including patient care and services, quality assurance, contracted services, case management and budgetary compliance.

He is a graduate of Rhodes State College and Ohio University.


Henson receives professional accreditation

Rob Henson, pre-construction manager with Touchstone CPM, received the professional accreditation of Certificate of Management-Building Information Modeling. Henson was one of 273 others in the nation with this professional designation.

Henson had to completed a series of four courses prior to testing.

National accreditation in the use of Building Information Modeling is a process relying on computer-generated models to better manage construction projects. The professional accreditation is offered by the Associated General Contractors of America and is the first assessment-based credential to recognize construction professionals on their ability to use the process.


Humane Society hires agent

The Humane Society Serving Logan County has hired Diana Kenne as the new humane agent.

To qualify as a humane agent, a person must complete a minimum of 20 hours of training on issues relating to the investigation and prosecution of cruelty to and neglect of animals.

Dog license enforcement will be a priority for Kenne. She will begin actively pursuing dog license violators starting Aug. 1.


Lima Exchange Club installs officers

The Lima Exchange Club installed Diane Bishop, director of Allen County Council on Aging, as president for the 2013-2014 term.

Adam Stolly has been installed as president-elect. Co-vice presidents are Cheryl Verhoff and Karen Sommer. Secretary is Steve Jenkins. Treasurer is Missy Young. Past president is Brandi Schroeder. Board members include Niki Duvall, Norene Parish, Deb Lee, Lee Markeiwicz and Tiffany Kayser.


Spencerville firefighter graduates from program

Jacob Lowry, of Spencerville, was among the firefighters who completed the State of Ohio Firefighter I & II course for full-time career firefighters. The training was held at the Ohio Fire Academy in Reynoldsburg. Lowry is a member of the Spencerville Invincible Fire Company.

The firefighters completed a rigorous 330-hour training program which combined classroom instruction and hands-on experience.


Otterbein St. Marys citation-free

Otterbein St. Marys Senior Living Community was deficiency-free in the Ohio Department of Health’s recent survey for the full-service community’s assisted living and skilled nursing areas.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lima Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com