Lima Senior band members awarded

LIMA — Several Lima Senior band members were honored with awards after the band’s spring concert Tuesday.

Along with John Philip Sousa Award winners Keonte’ Bankston and Darius Collins, Nathan Shauf won the Louis Armstrong Jazz Award, Soren Cress won the Patrick S. Gilmore Award for most improved band member and Connor Brayton won the National School Marching Award. Abby White was named to the American School Band Directors Honors Band and Lexxi Crowe, Nathan Shauf, Jeremiah Dew, Journey Seffernick and Raina Torres were with the Lima Area Youth Orchestra.

Lexxi Crowe will be the field commander for the 2017-18 school year.